If you are arrested for a DUI anywhere in the country, for the most part, you can know what to expect. Laws against driving under the influence of alcohol are standardized in many ways, and for first offenses, you can expect fines, license suspension, probation, possible jail time and other sentence requirements. In Georgia, penalties are largely in keeping with national standards or averages.
In Georgia, like anywhere in the United States, you will be arrested for a DUI if you are pulled over for suspicion of DUI and either fail or refuse a breathalyzer BAC test. Any reading over .08 on a BAC test is grounds for immediate and automatic arrest, but you can also be charged if your BAC is under .08 and officers have evidence to support the fact that you are too intoxicated to drive.
If you're arrested and charged with a DUI in Georgia, your driver's license will be suspended, you may face jail time and you will be fined and forced to complete a risk reduction program.
Fines and court costs can add up quickly. In Georgia, a first offense DUI carries a standard fine of between $300 and $1,000, as well as court costs, statutory fees and any charges associated with the completion of your court mandated alcohol risk assessment program. There will also be additional fees as you go through the administrative process of getting your license back. Talk to an experienced DUI lawyer to help navigate the fee structures.
Jail, probation and community service
For your first offense, you can be sentenced to between 10 days and 1 year in jail. In many cases, a judge will suspend this sentence, though that will largely depend on the circumstances of your particular case. You will also be required to perform 40 hours of community service. This is also somewhat dependant on the nature of your personal charges. If your BAC level at the time of your arrest was below .08, for instance, you are only required to complete 20 hours of community service.
If you are convicted of a DUI in Georgia, you will lose your license for one year. You can, however, apply at the Department of Motor Vehicles for a temporary license that will allow you to drive to work or school. For help pursuing a temporary license, talk to an experienced DUI attorney.
Complete the short form below and a DUI lawyer will review your case for FREE!
Recently on our DUI forum a user asked, “I am twenty years of age. I was arrested for a California DUI. I am wondering what will happen to me now and what steps I need to take. Do I need to talk to a DUI lawyer?”