24 Hour Toll Free Help

Driving While Under The Influence (dwui)



« Back to Glossary

Definition - What does Driving While Under The Influence (dwui) mean?

The state of Wyoming is the only state that refers to drunken driving as DWUI or driving while under the influence. Wyoming drivers may be arrested for DWUI for the following:

  • Driving with a blood or breath blood alcohol concentration or BAC of 0.08% or higher; or
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol to a degree which renders the driver incapable of driving safely; or
  • Driving under the influence of a controlled substance to a degree which renders the driver incapable of driving safely; or
  • Driving under the influence of a combination of alcohol and a controlled substance to a degree which renders the driver incapable of driving safely.

Wyoming drivers who are arrested for DWUI and either refuse to take a BAC test or fail a BAC test may have their driver's license suspended through an administrative license suspension for 90 days to 6 months. Criminal proceeding may also be brought against the Wyoming driver for DWUI charges and may include fines, jail time, license suspension, required installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) (required for six months if BAC is 0.15% or greater) and other limitations of driving privileges. Wyoming, like all other states, considers DWUI a very serious offense. Contact a Wyoming DWUI lawyer for more information if you have been arrested for DWUI.





« Back to Glossary



Browse DUI Terms Alphabetically:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | ALL