Recently on our DUI forum a user asked, “I was leaving a party last weekend and I was arrested for my third Florida DUI. I know I made a mistake, but I really do not want to go to jail. Will I definitely face jail time for my third Florida DUI and what are my options?”
Penalties for a third Florida DUI
If you have been arrested for your third Florida DUI the state considers this a very serious offense. Gone are the days when the prosecution would turn a blind eye and simply give you a slap on the wrist. In fact, a third Florida DUI is considered a 3rd degree felony (assuming the previous DUI convictions were in the last 10 years).
Drivers license suspension penalties for third Florida DUI
The first penalty you will face if you are convicted of a third Florida DUI within 10 years of your first and second DUI conviction is a license suspension. Specifically, if you are convicted of your third Florida DUI you will face the following:
- A 10 year license revocation
You will be eligible for a hardship license for your third Florida DUI after 2 years. Prior to reinstatement, however, you must complete treatment, complete DUI school, and have the approval of the Special Supervision Services Program. Additional fees must be paid for reinstatement, including the administrative fee, the revocation reinstatement fee, and the license fee.
Drivers will also have to provide evidence that they have sufficient insurance for reinstatement. Specifically, you will have to purchase bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of 100,000 per person, 300,000 per occurrence, and 50,000 property damage liability coverage. Your insurance must be maintained for 3 years from reinstatement of the DUI Revocation.
If your third Florida DUI is more than 10 years from the date of your second DUI conviction and you are convicted, you will face a 180 day to one year revocation of your driver’s license. If 2 of the Florida DUI convictions are within the last 5 years, you will have your license suspended for 5 years. The state will not offer any type of hardship license during the revocation period. You must serve the entire term.
Third Florida DUI and jail time
If you have been arrested for your third Florida DUI and the 2nd offense is more than 10 years ago you will generally be charge with a misdemeanor and will face the following penalties:
- Probation for up to one year
- Fines between $1000 – $2500
- Jail time for up to one year
- Interlock device installation for at least 2 years
- Car impounded for 10 days
A third DUI within 10 years is very serious. You will be charged with a third degree felony and will face from 30 days to five years in prison, higher fines, and a 10 year license suspension.
If you are arrested for a third Florida DUI and your previous convictions were within 10 years you are headed to jail. Talk to a lawyer and find out your options.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017