If you have been arrested, convicted of a Texas DWI, and lost your license it may be several months before you can drive again, but what do you do after the suspension period has ended? How do you get your Texas driver’s license reinstated? Recently on our DWI forum a user asked, “I was arrested and convicted for a Texas DWI, but now I am ready to get my driver’s license reinstated. What do I do?”
Getting your Texas license back after Texas DWI
The good news is reinstating your Texas driver’s license after a Texas DWI is pretty straightforward. Unfortunately, there are certain steps you must take. The first step is to contact The Texas Department of Public Safety to find out if there are any restrictions on your license.
Most likely you will have to complete the entire period of the suspension, pay all of your Texas DWI court costs and fines, complete the DWI Education program and DWI intervention program, pay maintenance fees, make you have the proper car insurance, perform all necessary community service hours, and complete your jail sentence (if required).
What fees will I have to pay after my Texas DWI?
Getting convicted for a Texas DWI is not cheap. Fees which must be paid can include a $125 fee for license reinstatement after an Administrative License Revocation (ALR), and an annual surcharge, which can range from $1,000 to $2,000 each year for 3 years.
Contact the Texas Department of Public Safety to find out if you can pay your fees online. Make sure to submit the required documents with your fees. If you decide to pay your fees via mail they can be mailed to the following address:
Texas Department of Public Safety
Central Cash Receiving
P.O. Box 15999
Austin, TX 78761-5999
Will I have to take an intervention and education program?
Some drivers will be required to take a DWI Intervention and Education Program following their DWI conviction. The court will notify you if you are required to take these classes. Classes are provided through the Texas Department of State Health Services. Call the DSHS at (800) 832-9623 to find a list of approved courses.
The DWI education program will provide information about DWI laws, the affects of alcohol and drugs on your body, and the impairments caused by driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. This particular course must be completed within 180 days of the date probation and is 12 hours long.
Drivers who have been convicted of prior DWIs will have to take other types of classes such as a DWI Intervention Program. This course is 32 hours and will focus on alcohol dependency and other relevant topics.
Insurance and Ignition Interlock Devices
As mentioned above, there are many requirements to have your license reinstated. In some cases, however, the court may allow you to avoid a license suspension after a Texas DWI if you install an interlock device (IID) on your vehicle. Talk to the court about this option if you have question.
Finally, if you want to have your Texas driver’s license reinstated you will have to have proof of financial responsibility, often called an SR-22 certificate. This certificate offers proof to the state that you have the proper coverage for your car and must be on file with the DPS for two years following your Texas DWI conviction.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017