In this day and age there is an app for everything. The Maryland Highway Safety Office announced last week they have developed a new application to help holiday drinkers know if they have imbibed a few too many spirits to safely drive. The app, which is called ENDUI app (pronounced “End DUI”), is the newest in such developments.
According to Erin Henson, a spokeswoman for the Maryland Department of Transportation, the application can be used to stop the rising death-toll from alcohol related deaths in the state of Maryland. Last year alone, there were one-hundred and fifty-two deaths, some of which might have been prevented if drivers had this app available to them. The app cost the state approximately $52,215 to develop.
How does ENDUI work?
Traffic deaths, according to the United States Department of Transportation, account for 31 percent of all traffic deaths. But what if we could eliminate just a few of these accidents? ENDUI allows drivers to enter their sex, weight, type, and number of drinks they have consumed throughout the night. The app then calculates their blood alcohol level or BAC. Drivers who have a blood alcohol level close to 0.08% should absolutely not drive. Drivers with a lower BAC should also consider not driving if they believe their reaction times could impair their ability to safely operate their vehicle.
But the application doesn’t stop there. ENDUI also has other functions which allow the driver to test their reaction times and their ability to complete other tasks which simulate driving functions. Drivers can also call for a taxicab, a designated driver or notify the police if they see other drivers who are intoxicated.
Penalties in Maryland for DUI
ENDUI may be just what some drivers need to reduce their chances of a Maryland DUI arrest. If a driver is arrested in Maryland for a first DUI offense they will receive both criminal and administrative penalties.
If drivers refuse a chemical test or fail a chemical test they will receive administrative penalties which can include a 4 month license suspension, potential installation of an ignition interlock device, and required completion of an alcohol/substance abuse assessment and treatment program.
Maryland DUI offenders can also be charged with a criminal offense. Although most first-time DUI offenders will not go to jail, jail is a possibility, especially if the driver was transporting a minor at the time of the DUI arrest.
Drivers will also have to pay up to $500 in penalties, or $1,000 if a minor is present. Drivers will also have to pay additional fines and penalties, which can include a substantial rise in insurance costs, and costs to have their Maryland license reinstated after the license suspension period.
Maryland also has a five year look-back period, which means if you are convicted of a second DUI within 5 years you will be charged with a second DUI and will face much more severe penalties and higher fines.
If you are going to celebrate this holiday season in Maryland it may be time to consider installing the ENDUI app and making sure you can safely drive.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017