Drivers arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) can expect to pay significantly higher car insurance rates, and they will be required to purchase high risk insurance or SR-22 policies for up to three years following their DUI conviction. Consider also, it will not matter whether your state calls it DUI, DWI, or OWI it will all be considered a serious driving infraction, and you will have increased car insurance rates.
SR22 Insurance in Texas
If you have been convicted of DUI the type of insurance you will be required to purchase will vary by state. For instance, in the state of Texas you will be required to purchase Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22).
This type of insurance is offered by most insurance companies in Texas and provides the minimum liability insurance as required by law. An insurance provider will automatically notify the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) when an SR-22 is cancelled, terminated or lapses. Drivers are required to maintain coverage for at least 2 years following their Texas DUI conviction.
Finding an Authorized Insurance Provider for car insurance
If you have been convicted of DWI in Texas the first step is contact your current car insurance company and find out if they offer SR-22 car insurance. You can also visit the Texas Department of Insurance for more information about the companies who offer high risk car insurance in the state of Texas. If you do not have a car you can also purchase a non-owner car insurance police.
Drivers who fail to maintain high risk SR-22 car insurance may have their driving privilege suspended. Keep in mind, as mentioned above, insurance companies will contact the Department of Public Safety if you allow your SR-22 insurance to lapse or if it is terminated.
How do I reinstate my Texas driver’s license?
If you have questions about the restrictions on your current Texas driver’s license you can contact the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). A driver will not have their license reinstated following a DUI until the required driver’s license suspension has been served, the driver has paid the required reinstatement fee, and they have submitted an SR-22 to the Department of Public Safety (DPS).
Minimum requirements for car insurance in Texas
Texas drivers will have to prove they have purchased the minimum insurance coverage to legally operate their vehicle. The current minimum coverage levels required by Texas state law are as follows:
- $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident,
- $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident, and
- $25,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in one accident.
Drunk Driving could triple your car insurance premiums
When you go to your auto insurance agency to get an SR-22 form, your car insurance company will consider you a “high-risk” driver. High risk drivers can expect their car insurance premiums to be much more expensive than drivers who are considered safe or in a preferred class.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017