If you are arrested for a DUI in Redmond, Washington, did you know you can have your license suspended if you are arrested for DUI and refuse to take a chemical test. Did you know you can also have your license suspended if you take the test and have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above the legal limit of 0.08%?
Keep in mind, it also will not matter whether or not you are ultimately found not guilty. In fact, administrative license suspension laws allow the arresting officer to report you to the Department of Licensing (DOL), and the DOL will suspend your license for at least 90 days if you took the test or revoke it for at least one year if you refused the test.
If your license is suspended through an administrative action you can file to have your case reviewed through a Driver’s Hearing Request. This request will be your only chance to fight the automatic suspension of your license. This request, however, must be done within twenty days from the date you received the notice along with a check for $375.00. If you do not request a hearing your license will be automatically suspended.
What are my options in Redmond for avoiding a license suspension?
A new law starting on January 1, 2009, allows drivers who have lost their license due to a DUI to apply for an “ignition interlock license” even before any suspension occurs. This license will require you to install an ignition interlock device, which is a breath test device attached to the ignition wiring of the car, and will keep your car from starting if you have consumed alcohol. Drivers will also have to purchase SR22 insurance as a condition of granting an ignition interlock license.
DUI penalties in Redmond, Washington
If you are convicted of a DUI in Redmond, Washington, the judge is legally allowed to sentence you to one year in jail and impose a $5,000 fine. Keep in mind, however, that is the maximum sentence they can impose, and these penalties are generally imposed only for the most egregious cases.
What can most DUI offenders expect in Redmond, Washington? Assuming you have no criminal history of driving under the influence and your BAC was low, you may receive one day in jail, a fine, and probation. If you BAC or blood alcohol concentration was .15% or higher (or the test was refused), you will be sentenced to two days in jail, assessed higher fines and will have a longer license suspension. If you had a minor passenger in the car the judge can also assess higher penalties.
Do I have a prior DUI conviction?
If you have been arrested for DUI previously within seven years of your current arrest, the new or second DUI charge will be considered a second (or subsequent) DUI charge for determining the severity of the DUI penalties in Redmond, Washington.
Unfortunately, this could mean the difference between one day in jail or thirty days in jail if the breath test result is over .08 but under .15. Talk to a DUI lawyer if you have questions about prior DUI arrests in Redmond.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017