A DUI in Leavenworth, Washington can have severe penalties. It is illegal in the city of Leavenworth to operate a motorized vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level of 0.08% or higher.
What happens after a DUI in Leavenworth? If you have been stopped and arrested for a DUI in Leavenworth the police officer may ask you to submit to a chemical test of your blood, breath or urine. You may not realize it, but by operating a vehicle you have already implicitly agreed to submit to the chemical test. If you refuse to take the test your license will be immediately suspended by the Department of Licensing for at least one year. If you take the test and your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above the legal limit the arresting officer will report you to the Department of Licensing (DOL), and they will suspend your license for at least 90 days.
Consider, however, the administrative license suspension will happen regardless of whether or not the charges are eventually dropped or you are convicted of a DUI in Leavenworth. Additionally, after the suspension you may be required to purchase high risk insurance for three years following the arrest. Your license could also be “on probation” for another five years. If this is not your first administrative license suspension and you have had a previous action within seven years of the current DUI in Leavenworth, you will face even more severe licensing restrictions.
The Administrative License suspension after a DUI in Leavenworth can be challenged by filing a Hearing Request to the DOL within twenty days of the date you received the notice along with a check for $375.00. If you do not have money for the hearing fee you may be able to request a waiver. Failing to request a hearing will result in an automatic license suspension.
In 2009, new laws allowed some drivers to avoid a license suspension by installing an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. This device requires drivers to provide a breath sample to start their car. The ignition interlock license is not restricted as to time or place of driving for personal vehicles.
After the DUI in Leavenworth
If you are arrested and convicted of a DUI in Leavenworth you may also face up to one year in jail and a fine of $5,000. Consider, however, this is the maximum fine for a misdemeanor DUI charge, and judges generally do not apply the maximum sentence. For instance, if you have no criminal record and your BAC is not considered high, you are likely to have as little as one day in jail or home detention and a much smaller fine.
If your license is suspended administratively but you are also convicted of a DUI in Leavenworth, you can also expect a separate, additional license suspension. On a first conviction, the additional license suspension is 90 days if the BAC reading was under .15%. Drivers who have a BAC above 0.15% will have their license revoked for a minimum of one year. Consider, however, if your license was suspended administratively for the same incidence the court is likely to give you credit for any time you have already served.
The bottom line is a DUI in Leavenworth is a serious criminal offense with long-term consequences. Talk to a DUI lawyer if you have questions.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017