If you have been arrested for drunk driving you might be concerned about the fines and penalties you could face, and with good reason, many states have increased the punishment for a DUI. Now, if you are convicted of a Leavenworth DUI you could face jail time, high fines, probation and a license suspension. Recently on our DUI forum we had a driver ask, “What fines and penalties can I expect if I receive a Leavenworth DUI?”
What should you do after a Leavenworth DUI?
After a Leavenworth DUI you can expect two proceedings: a civil administrative action by the Department of Licensing (DOL) to suspend or revoke your driver’s license, and a DUI criminal case which could result in confinement, fines and other consequences if you are convicted of drunk driving.
For the administrative action, if you have taken a blood alcohol concentration test (BAC) and your BAC was above the legal limit of 0.08% or if you have refused the test the Department of Licensing (DOL) will be notified. If you failed the test you have 20 days to request a hearing to contest the suspension. If you fail to appeal and request a hearing your license will be suspended on the 60th day following your Leavenworth DUI arrest. If it is your first Leavenworth DUI and you refused the test your license will be suspended for one year. If you failed the test your license will be suspended for 90 days.
Consider the DOL can suspend your license even if you are ultimately NOT convicted of DUI.
What are the criminal penalties for a Leavenworth DUI?
If you are convicted of DUI and you are charged with a gross misdemeanor you will serve at least one day in jail and up to a maximum of 364 days. The court will determine how long you will spend in jail based on whether you have prior DUI offenses, you have a high BAC (.15% or higher) or if you refused the BAC test.
Other penalties for a Leavenworth DUI include the payment of mandatory fines, an alcohol education and treatment class, five years probation and the installation of an ignition interlock device for one year following the Leavenworth DUI conviction.
Can I enter a deferred prosecution program after Leavenworth DUI?
The state of Washington offers a deferred prosecution program for certain drivers who have been diagnosed as alcohol or drug dependent (or in need of mental treatment). If the driver completes the program their DUI charge is put “on hold” for five years contingent on them completing the program, not having any other criminal convictions and remaining sober. If the driver does not complete the program they will be convicted for all DUI charges. Additionally, if you complete the deferred prosecution program your DUI will still be considered as a prior DUI occurrence if you are arrested a second time within seven years.
Another option is to talk to a DUI lawyer about the option to get your Leavenworth DUI reduced to Reckless Driving or Negligent Driving. Although no lawyer can promise this result, they can discuss your options with you.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017