In 1986, Minnesota joined other states to meet the same minimum standards for commercial driver licensing outlined in The Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986. If you operate a commercial vehicle you have given your implied consent under Minnesota’s Implied Consent laws to automatically submit to a blood alcohol concentration or BAC test of your blood, breath or urine to determine the concentration for a variety of drugs including marijuana, cocaine, amphetamines, opiates and phencyclidine and alcohol.
Implied Consent Law for Minnesota commercial driver’s license
Commercial drivers who refuse a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test will have their commercial license revoked for one year. If you are operating a non-commercial vehicle and your blood alcohol concentration is above 0.08% you will have your class D driving privileges revoked and you will be disqualified from driving CMVs for at least one year. Alcohol also cannot be consumed while you are working and you may not consume alcohol within four hours before you report for work.
When will I lose my CDL License in Minnesota?
1. You drive a CMV under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.
2. You refuse to submit to an alcohol or drug test.
3. You drive a CMV when your blood alcohol concentration is 0.04 percent or more.
4. Driving a CMV under the influence of alcohol.
5. Refusing to undergo blood alcohol testing.
6. Driving a CMV while under the influence of a controlled substance.
7. Leaving the scene of an accident involving a CMV.
8. Committing a felony involving the use of a CMV.
9. Driving a CMV when the CDL is suspended.
10.Causing a fatality through negligent operation of a CMV.
11. You commit an offense in another state that would be grounds for disqualification in Minnesota.
*Employers also are responsible for conducting pre-employment screening and are allowed to conduct random drug and alcohol tests. Tests are also given if an accident occurs.
* Drivers who are operating a CMV that is placarded for a hazardous material will lose their CDL license for at least 3 years.
*All subsequent drunk driving or DUI incidents will result in a lifetime disqualification of a driver’s commercial driving privileges.
Getting a temporary work permit after a DUI for a Commercial Vehicle
According to the Minnesota Department of Public Safely, if you have a class A, B, or C driver’s license and you are arrested for drunk driving or driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs in your passenger vehicle you will not be unable to receive a class A, B, or C work permit for the entire revocation period.
Hiring a DUI lawyer
Consider, since 2008, if you are found not guilty of a DUI or drunk driving or if your DUI charges are reduced to reckless driving and you have lost your driver’s license you can still have your commercial driver’s license revoked. Consult with a Minnesota DUI lawyer immediately if you have been arrested for drunk driving.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017