Most drivers know that it is illegal in the state of California to operate a motorized vehicle under the influence of alcohol or with a blood alcohol content above the legal limit of 0.08% or higher. Apparently porn legend Jenna Jameson did not get the memo.
Jameson was officially charged with driving under the influence or DUI today after she smashed her car into a light pole last month in Orange County. The accident occurred on May 25th when Jameson crashed her car in the early morning hours. Officers observed signs of her intoxication at the scene and gave her a field sobriety test. After failing the field sobriety test Jameson was charged with two counts of drunk driving and operating a motorized vehicle without a valid California driver’s license.
Jameson’s blood alcohol concentration was 0.13%, well above the legal limit. She also had prescription medications in her system including zolpidem (Ambien) and buprenorphine (Suboxone).
Jenna Jameson, born in 1974, is considered one of the leading adult entertainment performers. She began her work in 1993 and has won over 20 adult video awards over her almost 20 year porn career. She founded an adult entertainment company in 2000 which manages websites and produces sexual videos. She is currently attempting to move into the mainstream and has considered pursing parts on Broadway and Hollywood films.
If convicted of drunk driving in California Jameson faces up to one year in jail.
Penalties for a California DUI
California state laws will outline the minimum penalties that the court can impose after a DUI arrest and conviction. The current look back period is 10 years in the state which means that if you have been convicted of a prior DUI offense within 10 years and are arrested a second time, this will be considered your second DUI.
Drivers convicted of a first DUI offense in California will face up to 3 to 5 years of probation, they may have to be pay $1400 to $1800 in fines and penalties (generally paid within 45 days of the DUI conviction, although the court may allow it to be paid over time for an additional charge), lose their license for up to 6 months, and attend a DUI school (the amount of hours required can vary). For information about state approved DUI schools you can contact the California Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs which maintains a list. Drivers will also be required to spend 48 hours in jail or possibly have this converted to work service hours.
Hiring a DUI lawyer in California
Whether you are a famous actress like Jameson or a “normal” driver you are going to face severe DUI penalties if you are convicted of DUI in the state of California. Talking to a DUI lawyer is the first step to avoid severe DUI penalties and fines. Drivers arrested with a high BAC, for multiple DUI offenses or who have injured or killed another driver should talk to a DUI attorney immediately.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017