Why did I lose my license after Connecticut DUI arrest?
Connecticut drivers, under Connecticut Implied Consent Laws, have given their consent to submit to a blood, breath or urine test if asked to so by a law enforcement officers.
If you refuse a chemical test, under Connecticut’s Implied Consent laws, you can have your driver’s license revoked for a period of six months for the first refusal, one year for the second refusal and 3 years for the third offense.
Drivers who consent to the blood alcohol concentration test (BAC) but who fail the test with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher will have their license suspended for 90 days for a first offense, 9 months for a second offense and 2 years for a third offense. If you are less than 21 years of age and your blood alcohol concentration is 0.02% or higher you will also face the same administrative penalties as listed above for drivers above the age of 21.
What if your BAC is very high? The administrative penalties are even more severe. Drivers who have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.16% or higher will have their license suspended for 120 days for a first offense, 10 months for a second offense and 2.5 years for a third offense.
Keep in mind, these DUI administrative penalties will be imposed even if you are found not guilty of drunk driving.
What happens to my driver’s license after a Connecticut DUI arrest?
Drivers who are arrested for DUI and who either refuse to submit to the chemical test or submit but have a BAC above the legal limit will face an administrative license suspension effective 12:01 a.m. on the thirty-first day following the date of the Connecticut DUI arrest. A Notice of Suspension will be mailed to the driver’s address.
Drivers have a right to request a hearing to challenge the administrative suspension within seven days from the date of the DUI arrest. Requests can be made by contacting the Administrative Per Se Unit directly at 860-263-5204. That Unit can be contacted between 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Restoring my Connecticut license after an Administrative Suspension
Drivers who do not successfully challenge the administrative suspension or who do not make a challenge will have their license suspended. The DMV should send you a letter detailing how to restore your license. Restoration will require a payment of $125.00 paid to the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles.
Payments must be made to:
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161-2525
Oddly, the DMV states that they do not accept payment in person at any of their DMV offices so payments must be made via mail. For more information about your Connecticut license suspension or restoration information you can also call the DMV at 860-263-5720.
Keep in mind if you are convicted of DUI you also might face additional licensing suspension penalties. In this case you would have to follow a similar procedure to reinstate your license after a DUI conviction.
Hiring a DUI lawyer
If you have been arrested for DUI in Connecticut and wish to challenge your Administrative License suspension a DUI lawyer can help.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017