Severe DUI penalties for minors in Florida have been instituted for young drivers who are operating a motorized vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.02% or higher. What does this really mean? Underage drivers who drink and drive will face immediate DUI penalties for minors in Florida as a result of Florida’s zero tolerance laws.
What if you are arrested for DUI in Florida? If you are under the age of 21 you will have your license immediately suspended for six months. A second offense carries a one year license suspension. Minor drivers with a BAC of 0.05% or greater will have to attend an alcohol abuse and evaluation course.
The goal of Florida’s zero tolerance laws is to make sure that minor drivers understand that they cannot consume any amount of alcohol and continue to operate a car.
DUI Penalties for drivers over the age of 21
Not only do minors need to be concerned if they are arrested for DUI in Florida. Drivers over the age of 21 will also face severe DUI penalties and fines. If convicted of DUI a driver will be charged with a misdemeanor. If the driver causes serious bodily injury to another person they will be charged with a 3rd degree felony.
Misdemeanor charges for a first DUI will result in no more than 6 months in jail or up to 9 months if the driver was transporting a minor. Fines will be between $250 to $500 and or $500 to $1,000 if a minor was in the car. The Florida license can also be suspended from 180 days to one year.
Drivers who wish to obtain a conditional license to drive to work and school will have to attend a drunk driving school. This includes 12 hours of DUI education before the courts will grant the occupational license. Probation may also be required for up to one year and community service must be performed for at least 50 hours. Some drivers may be able to pay a fine in lieu of community service.
Reinstating license after Florida DUI
According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles site, you may reinstate your license after the revocation period ends and you have either enrolled or completed the DUI School completion and treatment, if it was required. According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, “Failure to complete the course within 90 days after reinstatement will result in cancellation of your driver license by the department until the course is completed. Failure to complete treatment may result in cancellation of your driver license.”
Additionally, you must take the required license examination, pay the revocation reinstatement fees, administrative fees, and license fees. Drivers must also prove they have purchased “bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of 100,000 per person, 300,000 per occurrence and 50,000 property damage liability on the arrest date or proof of liability coverage and a reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500, for subsequent violations will be required.”
As you can see, the best course of action for all Florida drivers is to not drink and drive. The state of Florida considers DUI a serious offense.
- Florida DUI – Why did the police officer take my driver’s license? (duiattorneyhome.com)
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017