Can I keep my Washington license?
Washington drivers have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test of their blood, breath, or urine if a lawful request is made by a law enforcement officer, who suspects they are intoxicated and unable to safely operate their motorized vehicle.
If you refuse a chemical test, under Washington’s Implied Consent laws you can have your driver’s license revoked for a period of 90 days to 2 years, depending on whether you have been previously convicted of DUI or if you have previously refused a breathalyzer.
What happens to my license after my Washington drunk driving arrest?
If you refuse to submit to a blood alcohol content test (BAC) or you submit to the test and your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above the legal limit of 0.08%, the police will confiscate your license and give you a Hearing Request Form (or it may be sent to you at a later date from the Washington State Department of Licensing).
You will have 20 days from the date of your DUI arrest to request a hearing. If you fail to request a hearing or if the hearing examiner decides the Washington license suspension is valid your driver’s license suspension will begin 60 days after the DUI arrest date.
Consider, however, that the administrative hearing examiner may decide in your favor and not suspend your license, but if you are later convicted of DUI, you will have your license suspended due to the criminal charges, which are completely separate from the DUI administrative penalties.
Can I get a restricted Washington License during my administrative suspension?
According to the Washington State Department of Licensing you can request an ignition interlock device which will allow you to drive at any time during your license suspension. If you get one of these devices you have waived your right to challenge the suspension through a hearing.
Drivers who wish to reinstate their license after a Washington DUI license suspension will need to visit the website for the Washington State Department of Licensing. They have a online program that you can complete which will identify all of the steps needed for license reinstatement. The Washington State Department of Licensing should also send you a letter with more information.
Drivers from out of state- how will this affect their driver’s license?
Drivers who are arrested and convicted of DUI in the state of Washington will have their DUI arrest information documented by the Washington State Department of Licensing. This information will also be forwarded to the driver’s home state, and many states will take action to suspend the driver’s license. Additionally, drivers can lose the privilege to drive in the state of Washington until they complete the license suspension requirements.
Does a reduced charge eliminate the Administrative License Suspension penalties?
If you have your DUI reduced to reckless driving or some other reduced driving charge it can lower the DUI penalties you might face if you are ultimately convicted of DUI in Washington, but it will not reduce the administrative license suspension penalties from the Washington State Department of Licensing.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017