Texas drivers who refuse to take a blood or breath chemical test after a drunk driving arrest may have their Texas license suspended for 90 days to 2 years. Commercial drivers who refuse a test will face an automatic one year license suspension. Drivers have the legal right to challenge the administrative license suspension by requesting an Administrative License Revocation hearing.
What must be done prior to License Reinstatement?
Drivers who are not convicted of DWI may reinstate their license after the completion of the administrative suspension. Drivers who are convicted of DWI must complete the requirements outlined in their penalty phase of their conviction:
- Complete an alcohol education program (programs must be authorized by the Texas Department of State Health Services)
- Complete their potentially 2 year license suspension
- Drivers who are under 21 years of age may be allowed to install a ignition interlock device and have their license suspended for 90 days. Community service is also generally ordered in these cases.
- Pay all of the DWI fees and penalties
Reinstatement Requirements for Texas License
(Information provided by the Texas Department of Public Safety)
- First, all drivers must pay the license reinstatement fee
- Get proof of SR-22 insurance. This information must be sent to the Texas Department of Public Safety and must be maintained for 2 years from the date of the DWI conviction.
- Turn in proof that the driver has completed the Alcohol Education program. This information must also be sent to the Texas Department of Public Transportation.
As mentioned above, drivers who are arrested for DWI may face an administrative suspension and a suspension from a DWI conviction. These suspensions generally run concurrently.
Online Texas License Reinstatement
Texas has implemented an online system to help drivers reinstate their license. It is called the License Eligibility system. When you log in you can pay your reinstatement fees online as well as complete a license eligibility application.
The system will also outline all the requirements you must meet to reinstate your license: view compliance items, pay fees and track your eligibility status. To login you will need your driver’s license or ID number, the last four digits of your Social Security number and your date of birth.
If you cannot use the system but you can send your compliance documents (without fees) to the Texas Department of Public Safety all information can be mailed or faxed to the following address:
Texas Department of Public Safety
Enforcement and Compliance Services
P.O. Box 4087
Austin TX 78773-0320
Fax: (512) 424-2848
E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org. E-mailed documents must be in PDF format.
Drivers who cannot pay their fees online must submit their compliance forms with their fees to the following address:
Texas Department of Public Safety
Central Cash Receiving
P.O. Box 15999
Austin TX 78761-5999
Please submit a check or money order only made payable to Texas DPS and include a copy of the suspension notice along with your full name, date of birth, and driver license number.
Drivers who have more questions about their license reinstatement process in Texas can contact the Texas Department of Public Safety or a Texas DWI lawyer.
- Texas drunk driving – First steps after drunk driving arrest (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Texas Drunk Driving License Suspensions (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Drunk Driving in Texas – Minors with a low Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) (duiattorneyhome.com)
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017