Drivers arrested for an Oklahoma DUI face not only criminal drunk driving penalties but also civil penalties. In the state if you are operating a motorized vehicle you have given your implied consent to submit to a chemical test of your urine, blood or breath if you are arrested for drunk driving.
Drivers who do not submit to the test or who take the test but have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over the legal limit will have their license immediately confiscated and pending a potential appeal of the administrative license suspension through a court hearing, may have their license suspended for 180 days to 3 years.
First step after Oklahoma DUI arrest
As mentioned above, administrative penalties may result from a drunk driving arrest even if you are eventually found not guilty of drunk driving. The very first step after your drunk driving arrest is to contest the license revocation of your Oklahoma driver’s license. This must be done within 15 days from the date of receiving notice that you either were over the legal limit or you refused the BAC test (the notice is on the Officer’s Affidavit and is generally given to you the same day as your DUI arrest).
All requests for an administrative hearing must be made to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety and there are no waivers of the 15 days to file.
Criminal Charges for First Oklahoma DUI
If you are convicted of drunk driving, even for a first time offender, you may receive jail time from 10 days to 1 year, fines up to $1,000, a 30 day license suspension, DUI fees up to $300 and mandatory participation in an alcohol assessment and evaluation treatment program.
Can I fight the drunk driving charges on your own?
The problem of fighting drunk driving charges is that most drivers simply do not have enough understanding of drunk driving laws. As with any type of law, DUI lawyers help hundreds of drivers each year and they have knowledge about state laws that you will not have considered. This knowledge, along with the expertise of defending DUI cases may lower the potential fines and penalties you might face if you are convicted of DUI.
DUI Lawyers- How do I get started?
First find several reputable DUI lawyers in your area and make a consultation to visit with them. Most DUI lawyers will offer a free initial consultation to review your DUI case. This meeting is generally free.
At this meeting you need to discuss the expectations if your case does go to court and how much they will charge to represent you. Also discuss the options for payments. For instance, may DUI lawyers will be willing to offer some type of payment options or credit financing.
If you do decide to hire a DUI lawyer make sure you read the contract and get everything in writing, including anything which might raise the cost of legal representation.
What if you cannot afford a private DUI lawyer? Depending on your financial situation, you may be able to petition the court for legal representation. You will, however, have to prove that you do not have the financial means to hire a DUI lawyer on your own.
Also consider, while many public defenders are very good, many are overworked and have a very high case load. They may be simply unable to give you the kind of personalized attention your drunk driving case needs.
So can you fight a drunk driving charge alone? Yes, but whether or not it is a good idea is a better question.
- Oklahoma Drivers License Reinstatement after DUI (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Drunk Driving High BAC – How does this affect my DUI penalties? (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Alabama- Administrative License Suspension (duiattorneyhome.com)
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017