When Can I get my New York License back?
New York drivers who operate a motorized vehicle have given their implied consent to submit to a blood alcohol test if they are arrested for drunk driving. Chemical testing can include a test of the driver’s blood, breath or urine and may be administered by a law enforcement officer. Failure to submit to the test can result in a driver’s license suspension or revocation.
Steps to reinstate my New York Driver’s License after DUI
Drivers who have had their license revoked after a drunk driving arrest or conviction and who have completed the revocation may request approval for a license reinstatement by the Department of Motor Vehicles Driver Improvement Unit (DIU). If approved, the driver may apply for a new driver’s license at the .
If your request is granted by the DIU you may apply to get a new license at the local DMV office. Unfortunately, requesting approval by the DIU does not guarantee you will be approved. The DIU will first review your driving record. All requests for approvals can only be made AFTER you have served your complete revocation period.
Not only will your revocation period have to be completed, you must also pay all of your driver license penalties, civil penalties, moving traffic violation tickets, and suspension termination fees.
Submitting an Online Request for a New York driver’s license
Drivers who have met all of the requirements listed above can request an approval online. The system will notify you of additional steps that you must take if your request is denied. Drivers who are not able to submit their request online can submit their Form MV-44 (application for driver license) by mail to the Driver Improvement Unit.
Drivers may not drive until they receive their New York Driver’s license. Drivers who have had their license revoked due to a drunk driving charge will have to also pay a reapplication fee. Fees range from $50 to $100, depending on when the revocation occurred.
Additionally, if you have been convicted of two or more drunk driving charges within the last ten years you will also have to show “acceptable proof of rehabilitation.” Drivers who have been arrested for refusing to submit to a blood alcohol content test will also have to pay a mandatory civil penalty.
What if I am applying for a full driver’s license but I have a restricted license?
According to the New York Department of Motor Vehicles, if you have a restricted license and you are now eligible for a full driver’s license you can apply at the local Department of Motor Vehicles and you do not have to contact the Driver Improvement Unit.
Restoring my New York driver’s license after a Drunk Driving Suspension
New York drivers who have only had their license suspended will not generally have to request a new driver’s license after their suspension is completed. Generally, their license is restored by the Department of Motor Vehicles after they have met the requirements under the suspension.
Drivers can have their license suspended for a variety of drunk driving infractions:
- Driving while ability impaired by Alcohol (DWAI) – 90 day license suspension
- Driving while ability impaired by drugs (DWAI – drugs) – 6 month suspension
If you have had completed your suspension and paid all the applicable fees, contact the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Who do I need to contact for a New York License Reinstatement?
Drivers who have questions about how to reinstate their driver’s license after a drunk driving arrest or conviction can contact the New York Department of Motor Vehicles. If you have been arrested for drunk driving and need legal assistance, complete our free evaluation form a DUI lawyer will contact you to review your New York drunk driving case.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017