Driving in Alabama is a privilege not a right. If you have been arrested for DUI and you either refused to take the blood alcohol content test or you failed the blood alcohol content test you will have your driver’s license automatically suspended.
If you are stopped in Alabama by a police officer and you refuse to take a breath test if the police officer asks you to do it, your driver’s license is automatically suspended under Alabama’s Implied Consent Laws, even if you are not eventually convicted of DUI.
If you are stopped by a police officer in Alabama and the chemical test (blood, urine or breath) shows that you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher, your driver’s license will also be suspended.
Alabama also has “zero tolerance laws” that are aimed at under-age drivers. Drivers under the age of 21 face DUI administrative penalties if they are driving a vehicle and their BAC is .02 or higher.
Administrative Penalties for Alabama drunk driving
If it was first drunk driving charge your Alabama driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. If this was your second drunk driving offense, the Alabama Department of Public Safety will suspend your license for one year. If it is your third drunk driving offense, your Alabama driver’s license will be suspended for three years. If you are convicted of a fourth or subsequent DUI offense within a five-year period of your last conviction, it is a Class C felony and your driver’s license will be suspended for 5 years without any possibility of driving during this 5-year period.
Can I get a hardship license in Alabama if my license is suspended?
The state of Alabama does not offer a hardship or restricted driver’s license to drivers who have a suspended driver’s license which means you will not have permission to drive your vehicle on the job or to and from work.
Hiring a Drunk Driving Lawyer after a drunk driving arrest
As you can see, having your driver’s license suspended for DUI in Alabama is a serious matter. It may well be a matter in which you should enlist the help of a DUI attorney who is experienced in handling DUI cases.
After your suspension period comes to an end, you are permitted to have your driver’s license reinstated. This is done by going to an Alabama Driver License office in any one of several locations and paying the proper fees. The fee for getting your driver’s license reinstated from a DUI suspension is $275.
These fees are separate from the fees and penalties you might be assessed if you are convicted of an Alabama drunk driving charge. DUI fines can range between $600 and $2,100 for a first DUI conviction, between $1,100 and $5,100 for a second offense and between $2,100 and $10,100 for a third offense. You are also required to attend a DUI school or a substance abuse program. If you do not attend your required program, your driver’s license will not be reinstated in Alabama.