If you are arrested for drunk driving the court will send a copy of the conviction notice to the Department of Revenue and Motor Vehicle Licensing and they will assess points against your driving record. If you have accumulated sufficient points, your license will be revoked or suspended.
Even if you are not convicted of drunk driving in Missouri it is also possible to have your license suspended if you refused to take blood alcohol content test at the time of your drunk driving arrest or your blood alcohol content (BAC) was over the legal limit of 0.08%.
Penalties for First Criminal Conviction for drunk driving in Missouri
If you are convicted of drunk driving in Missouri and your BAC was high, you were unable to safely operate your vehicle or you were operating a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.04% or higher you face 30-day license suspension.
According to the Missouri Department of Revenue, “after the 30-day suspension, the driver may receive a 60-day restricted driving privilege. The driver is eligible for full reinstatement after 90 days if all reinstatement requirements are met. A person convicted of operating a commercial motor vehicle while his or her alcohol content is .04% will be assessed 2 points and disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for one year.”
Drivers who are convicted a second time of a Missouri DUI, regardless of the length between the DUI convictions, normally has their license revoked for one year. If the drunk driving offense was committed within a five year period, they generally receive a five year license denial.
How do I get my Missouri Hardship License?
Drivers must complete the Application for a Limited Driving Privilege. Drivers must also have proof of liability insurance on file with the Driver and Vehicle Services Bureau. Drivers must purchase SR-22 insurance and have their insurance company provide proof to the Department.
Applications are reviewed and you are notified if it is approved. Drivers may also submit their Limited Driving Privilege in circuit court in the county where they live. Additional court costs and filing fees are associated with filing the application in court.
All drivers will not qualify for a hardship license. For example, if you have already received a limited driving permit within the last 5 years, you have refused multiple BAC tests, you left the scene of a motor vehicle accident, or you have multiple drunk driving convictions you may not qualify to get a hardship license.
Additionally, some drivers may be required to install an ignition interlock device prior to getting a hardship license. More information can be found by visiting http://dor.mo.gov/ or by talking to a drunk driving lawyer.
Hiring a drunk driving lawyer
Missouri drivers who have been arrested for drunk driving need to contact a drunk driving lawyer as soon as possible. Administrative license suspension penalties will be immediately assessed against drivers who either refuse a chemical test or whose BAC is above the legal limit of 0.08%. These penalties are assessed in addition to any drunk driving charges you face if convicted of Missouri drunk driving.
- Oklahoma Drivers License Reinstatement after DUI (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Reducing Florida drunk driving to reckless driving (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Drunk Driving in Texas and Commercial Driver’s License Penalties (duiattorneyhome.com)
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017