The State of Georgia considers driving a privilege. A suspension of your driver’s license can allow the State of Georgia to withdraw your ability to driver for a specified time period. After the suspension is complete and you have completed the requirements of reinstatement, you may apply to have your Georgia driver’s license reinstated.
What traffic violations can result in a Georgia administrative license suspension?
According to the Georgia Department of Public Safety, your Georgia driver’s license can be suspended under an Administrative License Suspension for any of the following violations:
- A conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Vehicular homicide
- Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used.
- Using a motor vehicle in fleeing or attempting to elude an officer.
- Fraudulent or fictitious use of, or application for a license.
- Hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident.
- If you refuse to take a chemical test for intoxication, then your license will be suspended for 12 months.
- Operating a motor vehicle with a revoked, canceled, or suspended registration in violation of Code Section 40-6-15.
- Conviction for driving without insurance is a 60/90-day suspension.
- If convicted for driving while license is suspended, revoked or canceled, your driver’s license will be further suspended for six months.
- If you fail to appear in court or respond to a citation, your license may be suspended indefinitely.
- Your driver’s license will be suspended if you are convicted of possession, distribution, manufacture, cultivation, sale or transfer of a controlled substance or marijuana.
- The Department is authorized to suspend your license if its records or other evidence shows that you have accumulated 15 points within 24 months under the point system, including violations committed out of state.
Can I get a hardship or limited license in Georgia after a drunk driving conviction?
Drivers who receive a first or second DUI conviction may apply for a limited driving permit. Limited permits will allow you to:
- Travel to and from work and perform your normal job duties.
- Travel to and from medical visits
- Attend college or another scheduled school
- Service your ignition interlock device
- Attend a court-ordered drug or alcohol treatment program
The Georgia Department of Public Safety has the authority to restrict travel times, travel routes and vehicles which can be used.
How do I reinstate my driver’s license after Georgia drunk driving conviction and Administrative License Suspension?
If you have been convicted of your second drunk driving charge you may be eligible for a limited driving permit only after you have completed your 12 months administrative license suspension and you have installed an ignition interlock device.
The ignition interlock device is only installed after you have given the department proof that you have taken and completed a court-ordered drug or alcohol education program. At the completion of this program they will install the ignition interlock device.
After you have used the limited driving permit and the ignition interlock device for six months, it may be possible to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Steps for a driver’s administrative license reinstatement after a drunk driving conviction
- Completion of the Drunk driving alcohol and Drug Use Risk Reduction Program (if required by the court)
- Payment of a $210 fee ($200 if processed in person)
Information below is also offered on the Georgia Department of Transportation Website:
Drivers can also contact the Department Of Driver Services 678-413-8400, or toll-free 866-754-3687 (inside Georgia but outside Metro Atlanta Area). Representatives are available Monday through Friday, 7:00 am until 5:15 pm to assist with reinstatement questions.
Drivers can also submit a letter requesting reinstatement requirements to: Georgia Department of Driver Services, Post Office Box 80447, Conyers, Ga. 30013. This request must contain your name as it appears on your driver’s license, license number, date of birth, correct mailing address, and your signature.
- Drunk driving and a license suspension in Missouri (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Reinstate Illinois Drivers License after DUI (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Drunk Driving in Illiniois and MDDP (duiattorneyhome.com)
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017