Can I get a license reinstatment?
If you have been arrested and convicted for a Georgia DUI you no doubt realize that the current drunk driving penalties can be very serious. One of the most difficult drunk driving penalties is having your Georgia driver’s license suspended or revoked.
According to the Georgia Department of Driver Services, if they choose to revoke your driving privileges your privilege to drive is actually terminated until the end of the prescribed period outlined by the Department. If you license has been revoked you will have to apply for a new Georgia license after specific requirements are met.
If you face a suspension, as opposed to a license revocation, your driving privileges are only temporarily suspended for a time and you may apply for a new license after specific requirements are met.
If you have had your Georgia Driver’s license suspended for drunk driving you cannot get a new driver’s license without first completing a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program approved by the Department of Driver Services and providing proof to the Department of Driver Services. You must also pay a $200 process fee (if paid by mail) and a $210 processing fee if paid in person.
Contact the Department Of Driver Services 678-413-8400, or toll-free 866-754-3687. They are open Monday through Friday, 7:00 am until 5:15 pm to assist with reinstatement questions. Inquiries can also be made by letter. Mail to: Georgia Department of Driver Services, Post Office Box 80447, Conyers, Ga. 30013. This request must contain your name as it appears on your driver’s license, license number, date of birth, correct mailing address, and your signature.
Reinstating your Georgia Commercial License
If you have lost your commercial license due to a Georgia drunk driving charge and your livelihood is threatened, this is very serious. If you have been arrested for drunk driving because you either refused to take a blood alcohol content test or your blood alcohol content was above the legal limit of 0.08% (for non-commercial drivers) and 0.04% (for commercial drivers), you are facing a license suspension of one year.
Drivers who submitted to a blood alcohol content test may have their commercial license reinstated after 120 days, assuming they did not have any prior Georgia drunk driving convictions in the last 5 years. Drivers who refuse the blood alcohol content test will not have this option.
The license suspension could be even more severe if you are carrying hazardous materials or if you have refused to take a blood alcohol content test more than once within the last 5 years. In this case, you may lose your commercial license for good, without a 10 year license reinstated waiting period.
Hiring a Georgia Drunk Driving Lawyer
Whether you are a commercial driver and need your driver’s license to make your living or not, a drunk driving charge can be very serious. Do not try to fight a Georgia DUI on your own. Even first time Georgia DUI offenders will face serious drunk driving charges.
Make sure you understand drunk driving laws. Administrative license suspensions initiated by the Department of Driver Services are in addition to criminal penalties which may be sanctioned by a Georgia criminal court.
- Drunk Driving and Look back laws in Texas (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Drunk driving and a license suspension in Missouri (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Texas Drunk Driving License Suspensions (duiattorneyhome.com)
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017