If you are arrested for drunk driving in Florida and your blood alcohol content level is 0.08% or higher or you refused the blood alcohol content test, your Florida driver’s license may be suspended.
You may request an administrative license review at the Florida Department of Safety and Motor Vehicles Bureau of Administrative Reviews within 10 days from your drunk driving arrest. You will be issued a temporary license which can be used up to 42 days after your drunk driving arrest. You are allowed to hire a Florida drunk driving lawyer to review your DUI arrest and appear at the formal hearing.
After the Administrative Hearing in Florida
If you win at the hearing your license is returned to you. If you lose, your Florida license may be suspended up to 18 months. Under some conditions you may be eligible to apply for a hardship license after 30 days or 90 days for refusing to take the chemical test. Keep in mind, the drunk driving penalties assessed by the Florida Department of Safety and Motor Vehicles Bureau of Administrative Reviews are separate from DUI criminal penalties from a Florida drunk driving arrest.
Under some conditions, the court may require you to complete a DUI school, purchase liability insurance and install an ignition interlock device (although rare for first time Florida DUI offenders). After you have completed these steps, or whatever steps are ordered by the court, you can go to any Administrative Reviews Office to apply for your hardship license.
What happens after a Florida Drunk Driving Conviction?
If you have been convicted of drunk driving and it is your first time, you may have your driver’s license suspended for 180 days up to 1 year. If your drunk driving resulted in serious bodily injury to another person your license revocation can be for up to 3 years. How long your license will be suspended will depend on several factors including whether this is your first drunk driving charge, how long it has been from subsequent drunk driving arrests and whether or not your DUI caused bodily injury to another person.
- First DUI convictions can expect a 180 day to one year suspension (effective on conviction date)
- Second DUI convictions (more than 5 years from the first) 180 days to 1 year
- Second DUI conviction in less than 5 years- drivers may have their license suspended for five years but they may apply for a hardship after one year.
Steps to Reinstate Florida license after Drunk Driving
Prior to the expiration of the revocation period you can apply for a hardship license in your county. Under some conditions you must complete a DUI education course.
What you will need:
- Proof of enrollment or completion of DUI school and treatment. If you do not complete the course within 90 days from the date of your license reinstatement your license can be suspended.
- If you are requesting a hardship license or a reinstatement, you must complete the required examination.
- Payment of the administrative fee, revocation reinstatement fee and license fee are required.
- If your DUI occurred after October 1, 2007, according to the Florida Department of Safety and Motor Vehicles Bureau, you “must provide proof of bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of 100,000 per person, 300,000 per occurrence and 50,000 property damage liability on the arrest date or proof of liability coverage and a reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500, for subsequent violations will be required.”
- Drunk Driving and Hardship License in Mississippi (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Drunk driving and a license suspension in Missouri (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Drunk Driving and Look back laws in Texas (duiattorneyhome.com)
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017