One of the greatest fears for most drivers after a Connecticut drunk driving arrest is getting their driver’s license back as soon as possible so they can return to work.
For example, if you were arrested for drunk driving in Connecticut and refused to submit to a blood alcohol content test you will face a 6 month administrative license suspension. If your blood alcohol content is between 0.08% up to 0.16% you will have your license suspended for 90 days. If your blood alcohol content is higher than 0.16% or higher your license will be suspended for 120 days. These administrative DUI penalties are in additional to DUI penalties you could face if you are eventually convicted of DUI.
So what can you do if you lose your license because you either failed the blood alcohol content test or refused to take the blood alcohol content test? Connecticut offers what they call a special work permit, also known as a hardship license in many states, which allows drivers who have had their license suspended for DUI to drive for very specific reasons.
Who qualifies for a Connecticut Hardship License?
- Connecticut drivers who have only been arrested for one drunk driving offense.
- Connecticut drivers who can prove that the inability to drive would endanger or dramatically affect the ability of the driver to support their family.
- Connecticut drivers who have not caused any severe injuries or accidents from their drunk driving.
- Connecticut drivers who do not have a history of reckless driving and driving infractions.
What do I do to get a Connecticut hardship license?
According to the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, the DMV will issue hardship licenses according to Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec. 14-37a (Amended 2010) and statutes defined in the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies in Sec.14-37a.
Drivers must submit an application for the Special Permit to Operate a Motor Vehicle To and From Work (form A-62) to the DMV and a $100 non-refundable payment with the form.
According to Connecticut state law, the Connecticut hardship license is used to travel to work or to school. The driver should carry the Connecticut hardship license at all times and violation or misuse of the permit can result in additional license suspension penalties or traffic citations.
Connecticut hardship license applications should be addressed to:
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161-2525
Hiring a DUI lawyer in Connecticut
DUI laws regarding obtaining a hardship license vary by state. Although the administrative license suspension may be fairly straightforward if you have been convicted of drunk driving whether or not you are granted a Connecticut hardship license may be more at the discretion of the DUI court.
Contact a Connecticut DUI lawyer to find out what is available in your state. DUI penalties are severe and Connecticut has very specific requirements which must be completed to get a Connecticut hardship license during a DUI suspension. For example, DUI offenders who have attended rehabilitation programs or who can show that a license is critical for continued employment, medical appointments, attending school or for dependent care may have a greater chance of getting a Connecticut hardship license.
- What Happens to My License After My DUI Arrest in California? (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Revocation of your license and driving again after 20 years (duiattorneyhome.com)
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017