If you have been arrested in Arizona you can expect severe DUI penalties and DUI fines. Arizona has some of the toughest DUI laws in the United States. Common DUI penalties may include jail time, even for first time DUI offenses. Consider the current DUI penalties for first time DUI offenders in the state of Arizona:
First Drunk Driving Conviction Penalties and Fines:
• DUI Base Fine = $250
• Arizona DUI Surcharge = $200
• Probation Surcharge = $10
• Prison Construction Assessment = $500
• Arizona Xtra DUI Assessment = $500
• Jail – Minimum 24 Hours up to 10 Days
• License Suspension – From 90-360 Days
• Ignition Interlock Device – Court May Order Installation of Ignition Interlock Device at the expense of the Convicted DUI Offender.
Drivers may also face a license suspension if they fail to request a MVD hearing within 15 days from the date or their arrest.
Arizona prosecutors can win a DUI case in two ways. They do not have to prove that your BAC was over the illegal limit, only that your driving was impaired by alcohol or drugs. It is illegal in Arizona to operate a motorized vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or higher, but it is also illegal to drive impaired. You may be convicted of a DUI in Arizona without the prosecutor having evidence that your blood alcohol concentration was over the illegal limit.
Drivers can also be charged with “extreme” DUI or DWI if their blood alcohol level is .15% or higher within two hours of driving. Minors can also be charged with an Arizona DUI if they are driving with any amount of alcohol in their blood, breath or urine.
Drivers arrested for DUI can be charged with a felony or a misdemeanor under the following conditions:
• The driver has 2 or more DWI convictions within the last 5 years from the date of the current DUI offense.
• The driver is arrested with a child who is under the age of 15 in the car.
• The driver was arrested for DUI while their privileges to drive had been suspended or revoked.
For many years the Arizona legislature has created new and tougher laws to punish DUI drivers. Changes have included longer jail sentences and mandatory installation of ignition interlock devices. How do you avoid severe penalties for DUI? If you have been drinking, drive responsibly and do not endanger your life or the lives of other drivers.
Hiring a DUI Lawyer in Arizona
If you have been arrested for an Arizona DUI it is time to talk to an Arizona DUI attorney. Find a DUI attorney in Arizona who specializes in DUI cases and understands how to successfully fight your DUI conviction.
Do not leave your future to chance. Talk to a DUI lawyer for more information about Arizona DUI laws.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- California DUI penalties for minors arrested for DUI? - May 6, 2017
- California DUI with minor in the car. What will happen? - April 30, 2017
- Delaware DUI what do I need to know? - April 23, 2017