What you need to know after a DWI arrest in Atlanta

Drivers who have been arrested for DUI or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Atlanta, Georgia, face severe DUI penalties including: fines, high insurance rates, loss of driving privileges, mandatory community service and the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device. Do not leave your future in the hands of an inexperienced DUI attorney, or worse, attempt to fight a DUI charge alone. DUI in Atlanta is not like other moving traffic violations. Pleading guilty to DUI with out understanding the consequences is not a good idea.

Atlanta drivers can be arrested for DUI if they have compromised their ability to drive a motor vehicle by consuming alcohol or drugs or if their BAC or blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher. Drunken driving in Georgia is also commonly called DWI (driving while intoxicated) and OUI (operating under the influence).

Atlanta DUI criminal defense lawyers can interpret Georgia DUI laws and can work to get DUI charges dismissed or lowered. If neither of these options is a possibility, DWI lawyers in Atlanta are ready to take DUI cases to court.

Penalties for DUI in Atlanta

The DUI penalty information provided below is general information and may be updated periodically by the Georgia legislature. It is important to discuss the specific DUI penalties you may face with your own Atlanta DUI lawyer.

First Conviction for DUI in Atlanta

Atlanta drivers who are convicted of DUI in Atlanta may receive the following penalties:

  • Atlanta drivers are required to pay fines of $300 – $1,000.
  • Atlanta drivers are required to spend 10 days to one year in jail. The DUI court may decide to suspend jail sentences or allow probation. Atlanta drivers who have a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.08% must serve a minimum of 24 hours in an Atlanta jail.
  • The court will suspend the license of drivers (over the age of 21) for one year. The court may allow the driver’s license to be reinstated after 120 days- if the driver meets all of the necessary requirements.
  • Atlanta drivers are required to do community service for a minimum of 20 hours if their BAC was less than 0.08% or 40 hours if their BAC was greater than 0.08%.
  • Atlanta drivers are required to attend an alcohol and drug rehabilitation program.

Second Conviction for DUI in Atlanta

With in 10 years of the first DUI conviction

  • Atlanta drivers must spend at least 72 hours in jail.
  • Atlanta drivers must perform community service for at least 30 days.
  • Atlanta drivers must pay fines of $600 – $1,000.
  • Drivers are required to attend a drug or alcohol rehabilitation program.
  • The court may suspend a driver’s license up to 3 years. The court may allow the time to be lowered if the driver installs an Ignition Interlock Device in their vehicle.

Third Conviction for DUI in Atlanta
With in 10 years of the second DUI conviction

  • Atlanta drivers must spend a minimum of 15 days in jail. The court may impose a jail sentence of 120 days to 1 year.
  • Atlanta drivers must perform community service for at least 30 days.
  • Atlanta drivers are required to pay fines of $1,000 – $5,000.
  • Atlanta drivers must attend a drug or alcohol rehabilitation program.
  • Drivers may face a 5 year license revocation, but the court may reduce the amount of time if the driver installs an Ignition Interlock Device in their vehicle and completes 17 weeks of an alcohol treatment program.

Fourth Conviction in Atlanta
With in 10 years of the third DUI conviction

  • Atlanta drivers are required to spend a minimum of 90 days in jail. The courts may impose a jail sentence from 1 to 5 years.
  • Atlanta drivers must perform community service for at least 60 days.
  • Atlanta drivers are required to pay fines of $1,000 – $5,000.
  • The court requires drivers to attend a drug or alcohol rehabilitation program.
  • The court may impose a 5 year license suspension.

Atlanta drivers may be stopped and arrested for DUI if an Atlanta police officer has probable cause to believe they are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Drivers who are speeding, tail gating, driving too slowly or breaking any other traffic law can be stopped. If a driver is asked to perform a field sobriety test or a chemical test they have the legal right to refuse but they may face severe DUI penalties including an immediate license suspension or a DUI arrest.

Atlanta DUI lawyers can answer all of your DUI questions and make sure you get the DUI defense you deserve. If you failed a chemical or field sobriety test, we can help. DUI lawyers understand Georgia DUI laws and can build a strong DUI defense.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.