Indiana OWI Dangers and Laws – Help for Drinking and Driving

Drinking and driving is a life and death matter in the United States. Did you know alcohol leads to a death every 30 minutes? An alcohol related injury on the road happens every two minutes. Worst of all,  most  DUI charges are for repeat offenders, and the majority of drivers whose licenses are suspended continue driving. Indiana considers drinking and driving violations as OWI, operating while intoxicated. Most states use DUI (driving while intoxicated) or DWI (driving while intoxicated), if not both in certain cases.

How much can you drink before being over the legal limit?

First, the legal limit in all 50 states is 0.08% BAC. BAC stands for blood alcohol content. If you are pulled over in Indiana, you can get a sobriety test. If you are over the limit or obviously drunk, you will be arrested.  The best choice you can make is to not drink and drive, to have someone else give you a ride who is sober, if not taking a cab.

Also, since studies have proven on alcohol’s effects on the body can be different, sometimes even one or two drinks can lead to breaking the BAC limit. A woman of 120 pounds is likely to have a higher BAC than a woman or man of 240 pounds who drank the same amount. Also, if you eat food or drink water, this can lower your BAC in some cases. If you drink on an empty stomach, you have a higher chance for being over the limit. Lastly, it also depends on when you drink and when you decide to drive. While this requires study, the longer you wait, such as staying the night at a friends instead of driving, the better chance you have of being okay to drive later.

Be warned: simply waiting or eating does not make it okay to drink and drive.

What are Indiana OWI penalties?
Indiana considers OWI penalties via the BAC rate of .08%, and also gives license suspensions, fines, and jail time for OWI charges. If you are found guilty the for your first OWI penalty, you can expect an Indiana court to suspend your license for anywhere from 90 days to 1 year.

Habitual defenders are prosecuted further, with much longer license suspensions, fines, and the potential of long jail time. Also, if you hurt someone while drinking and driving, even if it’s your first time, you can expect to lose your license for some time, face even longer jail time, and receive high fines.

What do you do after and OWI?
Hiring an Indiana OWI lawyer can help you with stiff penalties. You need someone schooled in Illinois OWI law, as each state has different definitions. The best method is to simply avoid drinking and driving, as even a .06% rate, which is under the legal limit, doubles your chances of being in an accident.

To hire an Indiana OWI lawyer, search online for firms with experience, who are within your budget, and who can educate you on your choices.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.