Consequences of a DUI Arrest in Utah

A DUI conviction in Utah can have severe consequences for a Utah driver. Utah DUI laws can be complicated. It may be a good idea to contact a Utah DUI lawyer. Hiring a DUI lawyer can make a difference in the type of penalties which may be assessed against a driver. DUI lawyers can review the driver’s DUI charges and help determine the best course of action for the driver.

Depending on whether it is the driver’s first, second or third DUI charge, they may be facing severe penalties including:

  • Increase insurance cost
  • License suspension
  • High court costs and penalties
  • Mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • Mandatory attendance in a drug and alcohol rehabilitation program

Utah DUI Laws

Utah drivers can be arrested in Utah if they are driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol or the combination of these substances to a degree that the driver is unable to safely drive or operate the vehicle.

Drivers can also be arrested and charged with DUI if their blood alcohol level (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. If a driver’s BAC is over the legal limit they do not have to exhibit any physical or mental impairments to be arrested.

A Utah police officer may stop a driver for any type of driving infraction or if they believe they are intoxicated. The police officer begins gathering evidence for the DUI before the stop by observing common infractions such as swerving, driving the wrong direction or driving too slowly. After the stop, the officer can give the driver a field sobriety test which can include asking them to walk a straight line, recite the alphabet or count backwards. After the field sobriety test, the officer can make a subjective decision about whether or not the driver is intoxicated and ask them to submit to a chemical test.

Under Utah’s driving laws, drivers have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test which will test their breath, urine or blood. Drivers who refuse to take the test can have their license suspended for 18 to 36 months.

Penalties for DUI in Utah

Penalties assessed against a Utah driver charged with a DUI may vary. A DUI lawyer can provide specific information about your DUI case. General information is provided below for Utah DUI penalties.

First DUI Offense

  • Required to spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail or potential 48 hours of a work service program or home confinement
  • Required to pay a minimum $700 in fines and penalties
  • Mandatory license suspension for 120 days
  • Potential home confinement with electronic monitoring
  • Potential alcohol abuse screening, assessment, education and treatment programs

Second DUI Offense

  • Required to spend a minimum of 240 hours in jail or potential 240 hours of a work service program or home confinement
  • Required to pay a minimum $800 in fines and penalties
  • Mandatory license suspension for 2 years
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device for 3 years if the DUI conviction is with in 10 years of the previous DUI conviction
  • Potential home confinement with electronic monitoring
  • Potential alcohol abuse screening, assessment, education and treatment programs

Third DUI Offense

  • Required to spend a minimum of 1,500 hours in jail
  • Required to pay a minimum $1,500 in fines and penalties
  • Mandatory license suspension for 2 years
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device for 3 years if the DUI conviction is with in 10 years of the previous DUI conviction
  • Supervised probation
  • Potential alcohol abuse screening, assessment, education and treatment programs

Hiring a Utah criminal defense lawyer

DUI penalties vary from state to state; hiring a Utah DUI lawyer who understands Utah DUI laws is very important. DUI lawyers may offer a free initial consultation to review a driver’s DUI charges so there is no cost for the driver to wait to make a decision about their plea. Talking to a DUI attorney is critical if the driver has multiple DUI convictions or the driver has injured or killed another person. Drivers who have multiple convictions could be facing license revocations, high penalties and long prison sentences.

Common mistakes after a DUI

Many drivers make simple mistakes which can jeopardize their DUI case. If you have been arrested for DUI here are some things to do:

  1. Talk to a DUI attorney as soon as possible to have your DUI case evaluated.
  2. With the help of your Utah DUI lawyer, request your DMV hearing with in 10 days of your DUI arrest.
  3. Do not pretend that you were not arrested and do not put off calling a DUI lawyer.
  4. Do not plead guilty until you fully understand the DUI laws which are applicable to your DUI case.
  5. Do not have unrealistic expectations about your case.
  6. Make sure you understand your fourth amendments rights and how they may apply to your DUI case.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.