DWI Penalties in New York – And How to Fight Them

Driving under the influence (DUI) in New York is actually termed a DWI (driving while intoxicated), a variation which occurs in separate states. But the basic principle of a DWI, has all the same core laws that others states use. For instance, you can get your license suspended, for multiple charges you can go to prison, and different laws for those under age as well as who hurt or killed someone while driving.

What is DWI in New York?
DWI in New York is considered a crime. You can lose your license, face fines, and quite possibly go to jail. It depends on a variety of conditions, most which will be familiar to you. But, the basic 0.08 rule of being intoxicated is the same across all 50 states, including New York.

The level of abuse is considered by New York law under 5 basic conditions.
-The amount of alcohol you drink
-The amount of food you eat
-The length of time you drink
-Your body weight
-Your gender

Some of those may seem obvious. If you drink 10 beers and drive in New York, you’ll get a DWI or worse. However, what does the amount of food have to do with drinking? This is because of how alcohol is absorbed by your body, and how food can sometimes weaken the effects. If you drank those 10 beers and ate nothing, you would likely be more intoxicated, at least that’s how the laws are.

Body weight and gender are similar, as the amount of intoxication you get from drinking 10 beers does include how big you are; a 300 pound man may be less intoxicated than a 110 pound woman.

There are variations to how intoxicated you can get and how old you are. For example, if you had a .18 or higher alcohol level, that would be considered aggravated DWI and would have stiffer penalties.

The Penalties for New York DWI
There are many penalties for a DWI in New York, and they can get complex. It’s smart to first hire a professional DWI attorney in New York who can plead your case in front of a judge or jury. The more DWI charges you get, as with other states, the bigger the punishments are. Of note is the A-DWI, aggravated driving while intoxicated, which has stiffer penalties. Let’s go over those first.

A-DWI: $1,000-2,500 fine, possible 1 year prison sentence, license revoked for one year
Second A-DWI in 10 years: $1,000-$5,000 fine, possible 4 years in prison, license revoked for at least 18 months
Third A-DWI in 20 Years: $2,000-$10,000, 7 years, License revoked for at least 18 months

Now let’s go over the basic DWI and DWI-Drug violation penalties, which can be less stiff.

DWI: $500-$1,000, 1 year in prison, License revoked for at least 6 months
DWI-Drug: Same as DWI
Second DWI: DWAI Drug: $1,000-$5,000, 4 years prison, License revoked at least 1 year
Third DWI – DWAI Drug: $2,000-$10,000, 7 years prison, license revoked at least 1 year

How do you stop these penalties from occurring? The best move is to drink responsibly, but if you make a mistake, hiring professional DWI attorneys in New York can help. A DWI attorney can help you fight or plea bargain, explain your rights, educate you on the penalties, and help you move on with your life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.