Summer has come to an end in Jersey City. Temperatures have started to drop and soon the leaves will fall. Students are back in class and Friday nights are filled with teams and touchdowns. But even as the seasons change one thing will remain the same on the highways and byways of New Jersey, and that is the dedication that local law enforcement agencies feel toward their goal of eliminating drunk driving in their area.
Drunk driving is a serious crime in New Jersey, and the penalties for a DWI conviction have been steadily increasing in severity for the past several years. If you have been arrested for a drunk driving offense in the Jersey City area, the worst thing you can do is to doubt the serious nature of the situation you are in. You need to take immediate action to ensure the best outcome in your case. The legal procedures involved in a DWI defense are complex and can be overwhelming for those without extensive legal training. Your best response is to secure the services of an experienced DWI attorney as soon as possible. Because these legal professionals specialize in cases just like yours they will be able to quickly evaluate your case and recommend the course of action that is right for you.
A driver can be charged with DWI in the state of New Jersey if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08% or greater or if they exhibit signs of intoxication as a result of the use of alcohol or drugs. A driver’s BAC is determined based on a chemical test of their blood or breath. At the time of your arrest, this sample was requested from you.
If you did not comply and provide the sample as requested, your license will be suspended for at least 7 months. This is based on the laws of implied consent that are on the books in New Jersey. These laws state that based on a driver’s choice to drive in the state of New Jersey, they have already agreed to submit to a chemical test whenever it is requested. A license suspension for a driver’s refusal to submit to a chemical test is completely separate from a license suspension in the case of a DWI conviction.
A DWI is neither a misdemeanor nor a felony. Instead, it is considered a traffic offense and as such this crime does not qualify for a jury trial. If you are convicted of a DWI in New Jersey, the penalties that are assigned will be determined based on your BAC at the time of the arrest and whether drugs were involved in your case. Drivers with a BAC of between .08 and .10% can expect fines of up to $400, a license suspension of 3 months and jail time of up to 30 days. If the driver’s BAC was .10 or greater or if drugs were involved, all of the same penalties will apply but the fines will increase to a maximum of $500 and the length of license suspension will increase to a maximum of 12 months.
All of the penalties for a DWI conviction will have a long-term impact on both the driver and their family. This is not a situation you should handle alone. Take action now to ensure that your rights are protected by contacting a qualified DWI lawyer.