Fall is on its way to the New England towns of Providence, Fall River and Warwick. Soon the countryside will be ablaze with the vivid colors of the season. But as you cruise the country roads this autumn, make sure that the colors you see in your rear-view mirror are the golds and oranges of the foliage and not the red and blue of a police cruiser. Those who mix drinking and driving with their harvest parties this year will find that their fall fun is coming to a quick end thanks to the efforts of local law enforcement.
Drunk driving is a serious crime throughout New England and it is one that police throughout the region are dedicated to eliminating. In order to do so, they have increased their patrols and sobriety checkpoints. Additionally, the penalties for a drunk driving conviction are becoming more and more severe each year.
If you have been arrested for a drunk driving offense in the New England area, you need to act quickly to ensure that your rights are protected and your privileges are maintained. This is not a case to handle alone. The laws related to a drunk driving defense are complicated and are rapidly changing. Your best response is to contact an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible. These legal professionals have seen hundreds of cases just like yours and can quickly evaluate your case and recommend the best action for your situation.
The legal level for intoxication in this area is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08%. A driver’s BAC is determined based on a chemical test of their blood or breath. A sample of either blood or breath was requested when you were pulled over. If you refused to provide this sample, your license was automatically suspended for a minimum of 30 days in Massachusetts and at least 90 days in Rhode Island. The state of Rhode Island will also assess a fine, require community service, and require the driver to participate in driver education courses as a result of a chemical test refusal.
If you are convicted of a DUI in Rhode Island or Massachusetts, you will face similar penalties, including fines, driver’s license suspensions, mandatory community service, alcohol screening and assessment, and driver safety courses. The maximum amount fined for a DUI first offense in Rhode Island is $300 if your BAC is less than .15%. A BAC higher than .15% will increase the maximum fine to $500. Drivers convicted of DUI in Rhode Island will also be required to pay a $500 highway safety assessment. Fines for a first offense DUI conviction in Massachusetts can reach up to $5,000.
All of these consequences will have a continual and dramatic impact on the driver and their family. The risk is too great. Take action today by consulting a qualified DUI lawyer to review your case.