Hartford is well-known as the Insurance Capital of the World, but if you consume alcoholic beverages before taking to the streets in this New England community, your insurance company will not be on your side.
Drunk driving is a serious crime in the state of Connecticut. The laws related to a drunk driving case are constantly under review and the penalties for a DUI conviction are becoming increasingly severe. This is not a situation that you want to handle alone. Your best response is to discuss your case with an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible. These legal professionals have seen numerous cases just like yours and they will be able to quickly assess all aspects in your case and recommend the best course of action for you.
The legal limit for intoxication in the state of Connecticut is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08%. The driver’s BAC is determined through the administration of a chemical test, which requires that the driver provide a sample of blood, breath or urine for analysis. If the driver refuses to provide this sample, his or her driver’s license will be automatically suspended for a period of 6 months even if this is their first DUI offense. This is the result of the Connecticut Implied Consent Law, which states that any person who drives in the state of Connecticut has already given consent to the administration of a chemical test to determine their BAC just based on their decision to drive in the state.
If you do submit to the chemical test and it shows that your BAC is .08% or greater, you will be taken into custody. You will be held in police detention until you are bailed out. If you are convicted of DUI and this is your first offense, you can anticipate significant penalties including fines between $500 and $1000 and a license suspension of 1 year. This driver’s license suspension is separate from the suspension of your license if you refused to submit to a chemical test. Jail time will also be a part of the penalties for a first time DUI conviction. The jail sentence is 6 months with 48 hours being mandatory. This sentence may be suspended, but in these cases 100 hours of community service will be required.
Drivers whose license is suspended as a result of a DUI conviction can apply for a special operating permit that will allow them to drive to and from work only. Application for this permit must be made through the Driver Services Division of the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles.
And finally, if you are convicted of a DUI, your auto insurance rates will increase substantially and your insurance carrier may go so far as to drop your policy, forcing you to pay much higher premiums with a new carrier.
You need to take action immediately to ensure that your freedoms and privileges are protected. Contact a qualified DUI lawyer today to start working on your case.