24 Hour Toll Free Help

Zero Tolerance For DUI In Atlanta

Summer days are hot, hot, hot in the Southern city of Atlanta.  But the weather isn’t the only thing bringing the heat in Atlanta this summer.  Law enforcement agencies throughout the state are turning up the heat on aggressive driving through the 100 Days of Heat campaign.  Patrol officers are on the lookout for drivers using excessive speed, those who are impaired, and those who fail to use restraints for themselves or their children. The 100 Days of Heat campaign will be in effect until the conclusion of the summer driving season over Labor Day weekend.  This specific program is designed to put more officers on the streets during the critical summer travel season when there are more drivers on Georgia’s highways and impaired driving is historically highest, but it coincides with Georgia’s Operation Zero Tolerance (OZT) policy. OZT is in effect every hour of every day all year long.  This policy tells drivers in no uncertain terms that “Over the Limit, Under Arrest” is the law in Georgia.  As a result, all drivers found with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater will be arrested and put in jail. There is good reason for this strong stand – statistics show that alcohol is involved in 1 out of every 5 vehicle crashes in the state of Georgia.  If you have been arrested for DUI in the Atlanta area as a result of these crackdown efforts, you are facing a serious battle to clear your name and preserve your driving privileges. The worst thing you can do is to not take the charges leveled against you seriously because the state of Georgia certainly is.  The penalties for drunk driving are increasing in severity each year.  Your best response is to contact a qualified DUI attorney as soon as possible to evaluate the circumstances of your case and recommend the action that is best for you.  At the time of your arrest, your driver’s license was suspended.  This suspension will last anywhere from 1 to 5 years depending on your previous driving record.  You will only have 10 days following your arrest in which to file an appeal to this suspension.  In addition to the suspension of your license, there is a separate criminal case against you. There are actually two types of DUI in Georgia.  The first type is referred to as “less safe driver” DUI and is charged based on the driver’s appearance, demeanor and driving at the time they are stopped.  There is also “per se” DUI, which is based on the BAC of the driver as determined by a breath or blood sample.  Penalties for both types of DUI are serious and can affect your life for many years to come.  Consequences may include substantial fines, required community service, license suspension and even jail time. The legal procedures required for a DUI defense are complicated and will prove overwhelming for most drivers.  To ensure that your case is resolved smoothly and quickly, you should contact an experienced DUI lawyer as soon as possible.