Tucson DUI Defense
Monsoon season is underway in usually sunny Tucson. The Stupid Motorist law is a traffic law passed in the late 1990s in order to discourage drivers from attempting to cross flooded roadways during this rainy season, and it is fully in effect this summer. But attempting to transform their car into a boat may not be the only thing slowing motorists down this summer. For those who choose to drink and get behind the wheel, dark skies may last well beyond monsoon season.
Drunk driving is a serious crime in the state of Arizona. Local law enforcement agencies are dedicated to making their streets a safe place and to that end they are routinely increasing patrols and sobriety checkpoints.
If you have been arrested for a drunk driving offense in the Tucson area, the worst thing you can do is the underestimate the gravity of your situation. You have been charged with a significant crime and the penalties for this crime are severe and will impact your life and the lives of your family members for a long time to come. You need to take immediate action to ensure that your rights are protected and your privileges are maintained.
Your first step should be to contact an experienced DUI attorney to assist you in handling your case. There are 3 different charges for a DUI in the state of Arizona. A simple DUI indicates that you were found to be driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs or both, or that your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was .08% or greater. This is a misdemeanor charge.
If your BAC was .15% or greater, you may be charged with Extreme DUI and if your BAC was .20% or greater, you may be charged with Super Extreme DUI. Both of these are felony charges. If you had a child under the age of 15 with you at the time of your arrest or if you have prior DUI convictions, you may be charged with Aggravated DUI, which is also a felony.
For a simple DUI first offense, you may expect fines and fees of at least $1250, at least 10 days incarceration, potential community restitution, and the installation of an ignition interlock device as consequences for a conviction.
If the crime increases to a felony due to a high BAC or other extenuating circumstances, all penalties will increase in severity.
A conviction for an Aggravated DUI includes a potential 3 year drivers license suspension. This is in addition to any suspension of your license that may occur as a result of your refusal to submit to a chemical test to determine your BAC.
The legal processes involved in a DUI defense are numerous and will leave a layperson confused and overwhelmed. Take action today to ensure the best possible outcome in your case by contacting a qualified DUI lawyer.