Third Florida DUI am I going to jail?Recently on our DUI forum a user asked, I was leaving a party last weekend and I was arrested for my third Florida DUI. I know I made a mistake, but I really do not want to go to jail. Will I definitely face jail time for my third Florida DUI and what are my options?
Penalties for a third Florida DUIIf you have been arrested for your third Florida DUI the state considers this a very serious offense. Gone are the days when the prosecution would turn a blind eye and simply give you a slap on the wrist. In fact, a third Florida DUI is considered a 3rd degree felony (assuming the previous DUI convictions were in the last 10 years).
Drivers license suspension penalties for third Florida DUIThe first penalty you will face if you are convicted of a third Florida DUI within 10 years of your first and second DUI conviction is a license suspension. Specifically, if you are convicted of your third Florida DUI you will face the following:
- A 10 year license revocation
Third Florida DUI and jail timeIf you have been arrested for your third Florida DUI and the 2nd offense is more than 10 years ago you will generally be charge with a misdemeanor and will face the following penalties:
- Probation for up to one year
- Fines between $1000 $2500
- Jail time for up to one year
- Interlock device installation for at least 2 years
- Car impounded for 10 days