Seattle May Be Fueled By Coffee, But Drunk Drivers Are Still Out There
Seattle is a city fueled by coffee with several well-known coffee companies founded and headquartered in this area. In the last century, Seattle had an extensive system of railways and streetcars, but as the city grew outward, the automobile became the predominant mode of transportation and the city became on of the most congested in the nation. Those who forego the many coffee options available locally for something stronger and then take to the congested roadways will find themselves frustrated by more than just traffic.
Drunk driving is a serious offense in the state of Washington. If you have been arrested for a drunk driving offense in the Seattle/Bellevue/Everett area, you need to act quickly to ensure the best outcome in your case. The laws associated with a drunk driving case are complicated and developing a defense in these cases is a time consuming effort. Most laypersons will find themselves overwhelmed and frustrated. You need to consult a professional to assist you with this difficult situation.
An experienced DUI attorney has seen hundreds of cases just like yours and will be able to quickly assess your case and recommend the right course of action for you specifically. At the time of your arrest you were asked to provide a blood, breath or urine sample in order to determine your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). The legal level for intoxication in the state of Washington is a BAC of .08% or greater.
If you refused to submit to this chemical test or if the test indicated that your BAC was .08% or greater, your drivers license was suspended for between 90 days and 2 years. You have the right to appeal this suspension but you must act quickly. You must request a hearing to appeal the suspension within 20 days of your arrest. This request must be completed in writing and can be submitted by mail or online. There is a $200 fee to request this hearing.
Some drivers choose to waive their right to challenge the suspension of their license. Instead they agree to apply for a Washington State Ignition Interlock License. Drivers who hold this license are required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in all of their vehicles. The IID requires that the driver provide a breath sample to prove that they are not intoxicated before they will be able to start their car.
The license suspension and IID requirement are separate from an impact on your license that may result from a DUI conviction. The penalties for a DUI conviction in the state of Washington are severe even if the DUI is a first offense. Fines can be as high as $5000 and the driver may be required to serve jail time of up to 1 year.
At least 24 hours of the jail sentence are mandatory. However, jail time may be replaced with an electronic detention sentence of at least 15 days.
All of the consequences of a DUI conviction will have a significant impact on both the driver and their family. This is not a situation you should attempt to handle alone. Contact a reputable DUI lawyer today.