Salt Lake City DUI Enforcement
There is plenty to do during the summer in Salt Lake City. From hiking to rock climbing, boating, and just hanging out by the pool, both residents and visitors are enjoying the longer days and warmer weather. But for those who choose to mix drinking and driving with their summer fun, the fall may be coming sooner than expected and it may be a fall from grace rather than simply a change in the season.
Drunk driving is a serious crime in the state of Utah, and it is one that both legislators and law enforcement agencies are determined to eliminate. As a result, there are more police patrols and sobriety checkpoints than ever before and the penalties for those who are convicted of driving under the influence are severe.
If you have been arrested for a drunk driving crime in the Salt Lake City/Ogden area, the worst thing you can do is to doubt the gravity of your situation. You need to take immediate action to ensure the most positive outcome in your case. Your first step should be to contact an experienced DUI attorney to assist you in making decisions for your case.
The legal limit for intoxication in the state of Utah is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08%. The penalties for a first time DUI conviction in Utah include fines, a jail sentence, mandatory participation in an alcohol education class, and a required alcohol problem assessment. The minimum fine in these cases is $700, but fines can be as high as $1850.
The jail time required is between 48 hours and 6 months with 48 hours being mandatory. However, community service of 48 hours or 48 hours of electronically-monitored home confinement may be substituted for the jail sentence.
A driver convicted of a first offense DUI will also face the suspension of his or her license for a period of 90 days. The alcohol education class that is required for those convicted of DUI is titled Prime for Life and the expenses associated with this class will be the responsibility of the driver.
Those drivers whose BAC was more than .16% will also be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicles. The IID requires that the driver provide a breath sample to prove that they are not under the influence of alcohol before they will be able to start the car. This device will be installed at the drivers expense.
Even after the drivers license suspension is over, they will be required to have a no alcohol constraint placed on their license for the following 2 years. This condition stipulates that there is to be no alcohol in the drivers system any time they are driving.
The penalties associated with a DUI conviction will have a devastating impact on both the drivers time and finances. Take action today to ensure that your rights are protected and your privileges are preserved. Contact a DUI lawyer today.