Pulled Over For DWI In Long BeachIt is illegal for drivers in Long Beach and all surrounding cities including: Santa Ana, Los Angeles, Santa Monica, Riverside and Pasadena to drive under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol if they do not have the ability to drive safely or if the drivers BAC is 0.08% or higher. Long Beach police officers have a variety of tools to identify Long Beach drivers who may be intoxicated including field sobriety tests, observation and chemical testing. Common driving actions which can lead a police officer to believe a driver is intoxicated include:
- Making wide turns
- Illegal turns
- Driving too slowly
- Stopping and starting unnecessarily
- Driving on the wrong side of the road
- Driving with out lights on at night
Long Beach DUI penaltiesThe DUI penalty information provided below is general information and may change as the California legislature updates their DUI laws. Talk to a Long Beach DUI attorney for specific information regarding your DUI case.
First DUI Conviction in Long Beach· Long Beach drivers may be sentenced to jail for a minimum of 48 hours. · Long Beach drivers must pay fines of $1,400 to $1,800. · Drivers may face a 10 month license suspension. Under certain conditions the court may allow a hardship license. · Long Beach drivers must complete a 3 to 6 month drug and alcohol rehabilitation program.
Second DUI Conviction in Long Beach· Long Beach drivers are required to spend a minimum of 96 hours in jail. · Long Beach drivers must pay fines of $1,800 to $2,800. · Drivers must serve 3 to 5 years in probation and their Long Beach license may be suspended for a minimum of 18 months. The courts may allow a restricted license. · Long Beach drivers must complete a drug and alcohol education program.
Third DUI Conviction in Long Beach· Long Beach drivers must spend 120 days in jail. · Long Beach drivers must pay fines of $1,800 to $2,800. · The courts may suspend a drivers license for 18 months up to 3 years. · Long Beach drivers must also install an Ignition Interlock Device in their vehicle.
Hiring a Long Beach DUI LawyerDUI laws are outlined in California DUI statutes and can be very complex. Maybe you are confused about the types of DUI penalties you may receive or what factors the DUI courts will consider before sentencing you. There are several factors which can influence your DUI penalties including:
- Have you had a prior DUI conviction in the last 10 years?
- Did you have a child in the car who was under the age of 14?
- Were you travelling more than 20 mph over the speed limit?
- Did you submit to a chemical test?
- Was your BAC over 0.15%?