OWI in Michigan - Can it be expunged?
Michigan drunk driving laws outline three distinct offenses: OUIL or operating under the influence of liquor, UBAL/UBAC operating a motorized vehicle with an unlawful blood alcohol concentration level or OWI or operating while impaired. OWI is the easiest to prove and simply requires the state to prove that the driver was visibly impaired or their ability to operate a motorized vehicle safely was weakened due to alcohol. Drivers convicted of drunk driving in Michigan can face a penalty of $500, additional court costs, up to 93 days in jail and 360 days of community service. Penalties for a second drunk driving conviction can include up to one year in jail and fines up to $1,000. In addition to these fines and penalties drivers may also face additional long-term ramifications of having a DUI or OWI on their driving record which should be considered prior to pleading guilty to OWI. Following an OWI conviction in Michigan many drivers have sought to expunge their OWI convictions only to find this is not possible in every state.