Magic Won't Save You From A DUI Charge In Orlando
Orlando may be best known as the home to a magical mouse, but if you are caught drinking and driving you may go from Bibbiti-Bobbiti-Boo to Boo Hoo Hoo.
Drunk driving is a serious crime in the state of Florida and its consequences can be life-altering for both the convicted driver and their family. If you have been arrested for a drunk driving offense in the Orlando area, you should take quick and decisive action by consulting an experienced DUI attorney.
The laws related to DUI in Florida are complicated and the procedures related to it are in a constant state of change. By hiring a legal professional who specializes in DUI law, you can ensure that you are partnered with someone who is familiar with the most recent legislation and can best advise you on what you need to do to ensure the best outcome for your unique situation.
When you were arrested for DUI, your drivers license was immediately suspended. You have 10 days from the date of your arrest in which to file an appeal to this suspension. It is important that you meet this deadline, because if you do not you will forfeit your opportunity to contest the suspension of your driving privileged. Your drivers license will be suspended for between 6 months and 1 year, depending on the circumstances of your case and your previous driving record. You will have an opportunity to apply for a hardship license, but you must serve at least a portion of this suspension before you may even apply for a hardship license. The length of time that must be served before applying for a hardship license will depend on a number of factors, the greatest of which is the status of the chemical test that was offered to you at the time of your arrest.
The chemical test is the collection of a breath or blood sample to determine the amount of alcohol in your bloodstream. The legal level for intoxication in the state of Florida is a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08%. If you had a BAC of greater than .08 at the time of your arrest, your license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days before you may apply for a hardship license. However, if you refused to submit to the chemical test at all, your license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days before you can apply for a hardship license.
Hardship license requests are granted primarily to enable drivers to get to and from their place of employment as well as complete any travel they require for business purposes. If your request for a hardship license is granted, you will be required to show proof of your enrollment in an approved alcohol treatment program as well as pay additional fees for the license.
Getting your drivers license back after a DUI arrest is a long and arduous process. To ensure that you are fulfilling all of the requirements, you should secure the services of a reputable DUI lawyer to walk you through this process.