Jacksonville Is Big On DUI Enforcement
Summer fun is in the air in the city of Jacksonville. This city is the largest in the continental United States land-wise and it does everything in a big way. From the countrys largest fireworks display at the Freedom, Fanfare, and Fireworks celebration to Gate River Run, which is the largest 15K race in the country, Jacksonville enables its residents to go big and go home. Jacksonville also goes big with regard to its pursuit of drunk drivers.
Drunk driving is a serious crime in the state of Florida and the penalties for this offense get tougher each year. If you have been arrested for drunk driving in the Jacksonville area, you need to take immediate action to ensure that your driving privileges are preserved. You should consult an experienced DUI attorney to review your case and recommend the course of action that is best for your unique circumstances.
At the time of your arrest, your drivers license was automatically suspended. You will receive a 10 day temporary permit. During this period you have the opportunity to file an appeal to this suspension. You must file your appeal within the allowed 10 days or you will risk losing your right to contest this suspension.
The suspension of your license will last between 6 months and 1 year depending on your prior driving record. The suspension of your license is referred to as the administrative license suspension and it is a case in and of itself, but it is not the only case you are facing.
In addition to the suspension of your license you are also facing a criminal case for your DUI. Your DUI case is based on the results of a chemical test used to determine your blood alcohol level (BAC). This chemical test requires a sample of either the drivers blood or breath. You have the right to refuse to submit to this chemical test. The legal level for intoxication in the state of Florida is a .08% or higher. The penalties for a DUI conviction in the state of Florida include fines ranging from $500 to $5000, mandatory community service, required participation in an alcohol treatment program, vehicle impoundment, and even jail time. Penalties will be determined based on the driving record of the defendant and the circumstances of their case.
More severe penalties are assessed if the driver has a child under the age of 18 with them at the time of their arrest or if they have a BAC of .15 or greater.
Handling a DUI is a daunting task and one that you should not face alone. To ensure the best outcome in your case, you should seek the advice of a knowledgeable DUI lawyer as soon as possible.