Find An Attorney Quick If Your Arrested For DWI/DUI In Little Rock
Summer is in full swing in Little Rock. Residents are enjoying the longer days and warmer weather with picnics and parties. But for those who drink a little too much and get behind the wheel of a motor vehicle, the fun in the summer sun may all come to an end. Drunk driving is a serious crime in the state of Arkansas.
If you have been arrested for a drunk driving offense in the Little Rock area, your best response is to secure the services of an experienced DUI/DWI attorney as soon as possible. These legal professionals specialize in the complicated laws surrounding DUI/DWI and as a result they are well-aware of the changes that are constantly occurring in this legal realm.
DUI/DWI charges are filed for drivers who have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or greater in Arkansas. The DUI charge is specifically for drivers who are under the age of 21, while DWI is the charge that is applied to adults. DUI charges can be filed for drivers with a BAC lower than .08 but higher than .02%.
Once you are ticketed for DUI/DWI, the clock is ticking. You will have only 7 days to apply for a court hearing. Otherwise, your license will be automatically suspended for 30 days following your arrest.
If you are convicted of a first offense DWI, the penalties are severe. You will face fines of between $150 and $1000 as well as court costs up to $300. Your license will be suspended for 120 days if your BAC was under .08.
If there are drugs in your system at the time of your arrest, your license can be suspended for 6 months. In some situations you will be allowed to apply for a restricted license so that you will be able to drive under specified circumstances such as travel to and from work.
If your BAC was significantly greater than the legal limit for intoxication, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID). This device will require a breath sample to ensure that there is no alcohol in your system before it allows your vehicles ignition to start.
Regardless of your BAC, you will also be required to complete an alcohol education program at your expense. The penalties for DUI/DWI in cases that involve accidents, injuries and death are even greater.
The cost of a DUI/DWI defense is significant and it can take a toll on both you and your family. Take action today to ensure that all of the circumstances in your case are considered. Contact a reputable DUI/DWI lawyer to assist you in handling this difficult situation.