24 Hour Toll Free Help

Facing A DWI Charge In Dallas

Dallas drivers may be arrested for driving while intoxicated or DWI if they do not have normal use of their physical or mental faculties due to ingesting alcohol or drugs or if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. Dallas drivers who are under the age of 21 can be arrested for DWI if their BAC is 0.08% or higher. Drivers who are arrested for DWI in Dallas can face a variety of severe penalties. Penalties will vary based a driver’s criminal background and whether or not other individuals were injured or killed. Hiring a Dallas DWI lawyer can ensure a Dallas driver has the right DWI defense. Dallas criminal defense attorneys vigorously defend their client’s legal rights and try to eliminate or reduce the consequences of a DWI arrest. Call a DWI lawyer immediately if you need information about current Texas DWI laws or you want someone to defend you against your DWI charges. Penalties for DWI in Dallas General information is listed below for the penalties for drunk driving in Dallas. DWI laws are created and passed at the state level so Dallas DWI laws will be the same as other cities in Texas. Dallas drivers should contact a Dallas DWI lawyer for more information about their specific case. First DWI Conviction Class B Misdemeanor
  • Drivers can be required to pay a fine up to $2,000
  • Drivers can be required to do at least 24 hours and up to 100 hours of community service
Second DWI Conviction
  • Drivers can be ordered to install an Ignition Interlock Device in their car
  • Drivers can be required to pay a fine up to $4,000
  • Drivers may be sentenced to no less than 72 hours up to 1 year in jail
  • Drivers may be required to do community service of 80 hours up to 200 hours
  • Drivers may have their license suspended for at least 80 days but less than 2 years
Third DWI Conviction Third Degree Felony
  • Drivers can be fined up to $10,000
  • Drivers may be required to spend 2 to 10 years in prison and required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in their car as a condition for their bond or release
  • Drivers must perform 160 hours to 600 hours performing community service
  • The driver’s license must be suspended for 180 days to 2 years
In addition to the penalties listed above the DWI court may order the Dallas driver to complete an alcohol or drug treatment program. Hiring a Dallas DWI lawyer Dallas drivers who have a Texas license have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test (blood, breath, urine) if requested to do so by a Dallas law enforcement officer. Refusing to take a chemical test or failing a chemical test can result in a license suspension. Dallas drivers who have lost their license may schedule an administrative hearing with in 15 days of their arrest to fight their license suspension. Dallas DWI lawyers can help schedule the hearing and represent a driver at their hearing as well has request an Occupational Driver’s License (if the license is suspended). DWI attorneys can review your DWI arrest, make sure there was probable cause to arrest you, ask questions and evaluate every aspect of your DWI case. Before pleading guilty, learn about DWI laws and your legal rights in Texas. Dedicated DUI/DWI criminal defense lawyers understand what drivers are going through and will do their best to defend a driver throughout the DUI criminal process.