DWI in Oceanside, New YorkIf you have been arrested for DWI in Oceanside, New York, you may have realized too late that the Oceanside Police Department is committed to apprehending intoxicated drivers and citing motorists who have violated laws which cause collisions. A DWI is a serious offense in every part of the country, including Oceanside, New York. The holiday season is especially dangerous, and it is not unusual for local law enforcement to join with other safety partners to remind drivers to not drink and drive. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 32,885 people were killed in motor vehicle traffic crashes in 2010. Thirty-one percent (10,228) of those fatalities involved alcohol-impaired drivers. With this is mind, drinking and driving at any time of the year is dangerous.
What do I do after a DWI in Oceanside, New York?Although you may be tempted to plead guilty to a DWI in Oceanside, New York, before you do, make sure you understand what penalties and fines you may be facing. For instance, if you are charged with a first time DWI in New York you could face the following penalties and fines:
- You may face a jail term up to one year.
- You will be forced to pay fines from $500 to $1,000.
- You will have your drivers license suspended for at least six months.
- You will be forced to pay a mandatory surcharge.
- You will be forced to attend a mandatory alcohol education course.
- You may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car.