Drunk Driving Enforcement In West Palm Beach
West Palm Beach is the oldest incorporated municipality in South Florida, but its fight against drunk driving is still growing up. Law enforcement agencies are stepping up their fight to keep drunk drivers off the streets and the laws related to DUIs are becoming tougher all the time.
Drunk driving is a serious crime in Florida and it has penalties that are equally severe. If you have been arrested for a drunk driving offense in the West Palm Beach/Boca Raton area, you need the assistance of a knowledgeable DUI attorney to walk you through the tangled web of legislation. You should seek out a legal professional who specializes in DUI cases to ensure that they are familiar with the all of the ins and outs related to DUI cases.
At the time of your arrest for DUI, your license was automatically suspended. This suspension will be in effect for between 6 months and 1 year. The length of the suspension will depend on whether this is your first or a subsequent DUI arrest. You should have also received a temporary permit that will be in effect for 10 days following your arrest. During these 10 days you will have the opportunity to file an appeal related to the suspension of your license. You must file this appeal within the 10 day time limit or you will forfeit your right to contest the suspension of your driving privileges.
Your license is being suspended based on the outcome of a chemical test. The chemical test is a sample of your breath or blood that is used to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). Any BAC of .08% or greater exceeds the legal limit for intoxication in the state of Florida. If you refused to submit to a chemical test, your license will still be suspended. The length of suspension will increase to 1 year for a first offense and 18 months for a subsequent offense if you have refused a chemical test. You will have the opportunity to apply for a hardship license if you can demonstrate that you have a need to drive for business or employment purposes. You will have to complete some period of the license suspension before you may even apply for a hardship license. This period will vary depending on your driving record and the circumstances of your case.
If you have been convicted of DUI 2 or more times in the state of Florida or if you have refused to submit to a chemical test 2 or more times, you will not be eligible for a hardship license at all.
Once you have a DUI case pending against you, you must take quick action to retain your driving privileges. In order to ensure that you are able to keep your case on track, you should consult a knowledgeable DUI lawyer as soon as possible.