Arrested for DUI in Las Vegas?
The Las Vegas Strip is synonymous with its miles of glowing neon lights, but if you drink and drive in Sin City, the lights you will see will be red, blue and attached a police cruiser. Despite its reputation as an entertainment destination and its atypical open container laws that allow visitors to carry open alcoholic beverages up and down the Strip, drunk driving remains a serious crime in the city of Las Vegas.
If you have been arrested for a drunk driving crime in the Las Vegas area, you need to take immediate action to ensure that your rights are protected and your privileges are preserved. The laws related to a drunk driving charge are complex and are in a constant state of change as legislators continue to take a tough stance on drunk driving. As a result of all of these changes, developing a defense in a DUI case is difficult for the average layperson. You need an experienced DUI attorney to assist you with this process.
These dedicated legal professionals have seen numerous cases just like yours and are constantly studying the changes that are taking place in the legal arena for drunk driving issues. They will be able to quickly review your case and recommend the best actions specifically for you. But time is not on your side. You need to act quickly in order to protect your driving privileges.
At the time of your arrest, you were asked to provide a blood or breath sample in order to determine your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). The legal limit for intoxication in the state of Nevada, as in most states, is .08%. If you had a BAC of .08% or greater, or if you refused to submit to this chemical test, your license was automatically suspended for between 90 days and several years depending on the other factors in your case. You may file an appeal to this license suspension, but you must do so within 7 days of your arrest. This license suspension is separate from any action taken against your drivers license in the event that you are convicted of the DUI charge against you.
You do have the opportunity to apply for a restricted drivers license, but you must pass a waiting period and these licenses are granted at the discretion of the judge.
If you are convicted of a first offense DUI in Nevada, the penalties are severe. You will be required to pay at least $400 in fines and fees, complete alcohol classes at a Nevada DUI school, attend a Victims Impact Panel class, and either spend 2 days in jail or perform between 48 and 96 hours of community service. Additionally, you will be on probation and your license will be suspended for 90 days.
These penalties all increase in severity for subsequent DUI convictions and a conviction in a 3rd time offense is a felony.
All of these penalties will have a dramatic impact on both you and your family for many years to come. This is not a situation you should handle alone. The risks are too great. Contact a reputable DUI lawyer today.