24 Hour Toll Free Help

Accused of DWI In Forth Worth, Texas? Here is what you should know

  If you have been arrested for DWI or driving while intoxicated with drugs or alcohol, you may need the help of a qualified Fort Worth DWI lawyer. Regardless of the circumstances, a Fort Worth DWI attorney can help offer DWI advice. Find a DWI lawyer in Fort Worth who has a good reputation for working with Texas prosecutors and judges. Most Fort Worth DWI lawyers will provide a free initial consultation to review your DWI charges and discuss the next steps in the DWI process.   Drivers in Forth Worth or any of the surrounding areas including: Arlington, Grand Prairie, Mansfield, Bedford, Cedar Hill or Coppell can be charged with driving while intoxicated (or more commonly called DUI or driving under the influence in many states) if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08% or higher or if they lost their “normal function of their mental or physical faculties” because they are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Fort Worth DWI is serious and contacting a Fort Worth DWI attorney is always a good idea. DUI attorneys can help a driver navigated the complicated DWI legal procedures and answer DWI/DUI questions. Fort Worth DWI attorneys understand the legal consequences of DWI. Find a Fort Worth criminal defense attorney who specializes in DWI cases and has a successful record of providing high quality DWI defenses at a reasonable cost. Penalties for DWI Convictions in Fort Worth First DWI Conviction in Fort Worth   Fort Worth Drivers who are charged and convicted with a Class B Misdemeanor DWI in Fort Worth will have the following DWI penalties:
  • Fort Worth drivers may be required to pay up to $2,000 in fines and penalties
  • Fort Worth drivers may be assessed 24 to 100 hours of community service
  • Fort Worth drivers may have to spend up to 180 days in jail
  Second DWI Conviction in Forth Worth
  • Fort Worth drivers may have to install an Ignition Interlock Device in their car
  • Forth Worth drivers may have to pay up to $4,000 in fines and spend at least 72 hours in jail.
  • Courts may also require drivers to perform community service for 80 to 200 hours
  • Mandatory license suspension may be required for 80 days to 2 years
  Third DWI Conviction in Fort Worth   A third conviction for DWI in Fort Worth is considered a 3rd Degree Felony and has the following DWI penalties:
  • Fort Worth drivers may have to serve 2 to 10 years in prison and have to install an Ignition Interlock Device in their car as a condition of their release from state prison.
  • DWI fines can be as high as $10,000 and drivers may also face a license suspension for 180 days to 2 years.
  • DWI courts may order the driver to attend a drug or alcohol treatment program and serve up to 160 to 600 hours of community service.
Fort Worth’s Implied Consent Laws   Fort Worth drivers who refuse to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, when asked to do so by a Fort Worth police officer, may have their license suspended. Fort Worth drivers have 15 days from the DWI arrest to file a request for an administrative license hearing and challenge their license suspension. Drivers who have failed or refused a chemical test should contact a Fort Worth DWI lawyer. DWI lawyers in Fort Worth can file the license suspension appeal paperwork and help get drivers get their license back. If the courts do not reverse the license suspension, drivers may be able to get a restricted license which allows them to continue to drive to work or to school.
Enhanced by Zemanta