24 Hour Toll Free Help

DUI in Wyoming

DWI in Wyoming

In the state of Wyoming, drivers who are arrested for drunken driving can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). Another term that may also be used is DWUI or "driving while under the influence."

Wyoming DUI laws have created very serious penalties for DUI, and drivers should contact a Wyoming lawyer as soon as possible if they have been arrested. DUI penalties can include hefty fines and penalties, loss of license, probation and mandatory drug and alcohol assessment and classes.

Wyoming DUI attorneys may offer a free consultation to review the driver's DUI case. Wyoming DUI laws can be complicated, but a Wyoming DUI attorney can help prepare the driver's DWUI defense.

Legal definition of DWUI or DUI in Wyoming
Wyoming drivers are considered to be "driving under the influence" or (DUI) or "driving while under the influence" or (DWUI) if their breath or blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. Drivers who are over the illegal limit of BAC do not have to show signs of impairment to be arrested for DUI. Wyoming police officers can gather evidence of intoxication either before or after a driver is stopped. Wyoming police offers frequently use field sobriety tests to determine if a driver is driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Drivers under the age of 21 are considered DUI or DWUI when their BAC is 0.02% or higher. Penalties for drivers under the age of 21 can include a fine up to $750 and a license suspension for 90 days.

Penalties for DUI in Wyoming

First Offense Misdemeanor

  • Potential jail stay up to 6 months
  • Required to pay a fine up to $750
  • License suspension for 90 days
  • For BAC of 0.15% or higher Ignition Interlock Device
  • Required drug and alcohol abuse assessment

Second Offense (Within 5 years)
Misdemeanor

  • Required jail stay from 7 days up to 6 months
  • Required to pay a fine of $200 to $750
  • License suspension for 1 year
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for 1 year
  • Required drug and alcohol abuse assessment

Third Offense (Within 5 years)
Misdemeanor

  • Required jail stay from 30 days up to 6 months
  • Required to pay a fine of $750 to $3,000
  • License suspension for 3 years
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for 2 years
  • Required drug and alcohol abuse assessment
  • Potential probation and inpatient treatment options

Fourth Offense (Within 5 years)
Felony

  • Required jail stay up to 2 years
  • Required to pay up to $10,000
  • License suspension
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for life, but the driver may apply for its removal after 5 years
  • Required drug and alcohol abuse assessment and completion of a program
  • Potential probation and inpatient treatment options

Finding a Wyoming DUI Attorney
After reviewing the penalties for a Wyoming DUI conviction, it is probably pretty clear that a knowledgeable DUI attorney can help. Find a criminal defense attorney who can give your case the personal attention it deserves. The state of Wyoming processes a lot of DUI convictions each year, and prosecutors can be in a hurry to move quickly through each case. Find a DUI lawyer who can prepare a good defense for you.

Chemical testing for DUI in Wyoming
A chemical test in the state of Wyoming must be performed in a legal manner and performed as soon as possible after the DUI arrest. Prior to taking a chemical test, the driver can request to be taken to an independent testing center for another DUI test.

Testing centers must be licensed by the state of Wyoming and the staff performing the test must be licensed. It is important to understand the legal ramifications of refusing a chemical test because if a driver refuses, it can be used against him in court. (Information obtained in the Wyoming Code Title 31 (Motor Vehicles) section 31-6-102, 31-6-105)

Wyoming implied consent laws
Wyoming drivers who have a valid driver's license have given their "implied consent" to submit to a blood, urine or blood test if they are stopped for a DUI in Wyoming. If a driver decides to refuse to submit to the BAC test their license will be suspended up to one year.