24 Hour Toll Free Help

DUI in Mississippi

DWI in Mississippi

Drivers who drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) may be sent to jail, lose their drivers license or be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device on their vehicle. Many drivers feel overwhelmed by the possibility of a DUI conviction. If this is your first, second or third DUI arrest you need the help of a professional DUI lawyer.

Most Mississippi attorneys provide a free initial consultation to discuss the merits of your DUI case. Mississippi DUI laws can be complicated, but you do not have to fight the charges alone. Let a Mississippi DUI attorney help.

Mississippi DUI Law
Mississippi DUI or driving under the influence laws make it illegal for any driver to operate a motor vehicle if:

  • The driver is under the influence of any liquor and the consumption of this substance has impaired their mental or physical capacity to operate a motor vehicle.
  • The driver has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more.
  • The driver is under the age of 21 and has a BAC or blood alcohol concentration of 0.02% or more.
  • The driver is under the influence of any controlled substance including legal or illegal drugs.
  • The driver is a commercial driver and has a BAC of 0.04% or higher.

Mississippi drivers have given their implied consent to submit to a blood alcohol test or chemical test when they received their Mississippi license. A chemical test will test either the blood, urine or the breath of the driver. Mississippi law allows a second test to be requested and paid for by the driver. Refusing to submit to a chemical test will result in a license suspension for a period of 90 days to 1 year.

Penalties for DUI in Mississippi


First offense penalties for DUI (Misdemeanor)

  • Required to pay a fine of $250 to $1,000
  • Required jail sentence up to 48 hours
  • Required community service of 10 days to 1 year
  • Required driver's license suspension for 90 days to 1 year (may request a hardship license after 30 days if a chemical test if the driver did not refuse a chemical test)
  • Alcohol education course

Second offense penalties for DUI (Misdemeanor)

  • Required to pay a fine of $600 to $1,500
  • Required jail sentence of 5 days up to 1 year
  • Required community service of 10 days to 1 year
  • Required driver's license suspension for 2 years (no hardship license)
  • Alcohol and drug treatment
  • Vehicle impoundment possible with 6 month ignition interlock device with license reinstatement

Third offense penalties for a DUI (Felony)

  • Required to pay a fine of $2,000 up to $5,000
  • Required jail sentence of 1 year up to 5 years
  • Vehicle seizure or mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for at least 6 months after license reinstatement
  • License suspension for 5 years (no hardship license available)
  • Alcohol education course required

Hiring a DUI Lawyer in Mississippi
Penalties for DUI can be very serious. Talk to a DUI lawyer for information for the specific DUI penalties you may face if you are convicted of a DUI in Mississippi.