24 Hour Toll Free Help

DUI in Kansas

DWI in Kansas

If you have been arrested for a DUI, you only have ten days to request a hearing in order to save your driver's license. Time is of the essence, please contact us immediately. In the Sate of Kansas you will be facing two cases, one criminal and one civil, and your right to drive will also be up in question. You do not have time to wait. You need to speak to a qualified and experienced lawyer about your DUI in order to protect your right to drive and to get you the least amount of fines and jail time as possible.

DEFINITION OF A KANSAS DUI:
A Kansas DUI is defined by a driver has a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher. If this is your first offense you will be facing possible jail time and fees. You need to speak to a lawyer before it is too late. 

If you have a DUI conviction you will be facing jail time and monetary fines, court cost, fees, cost of education and evaluations ordered by the court and community service hours.

Another aspect of a DUI case in Kansas is that you will face losing your driver's license. This could happen in both of the cases against you, the criminal and civil case. A qualified and experienced DUI lawyer can help with this and can challenge the suspension of your license. Once convicted of a DUI in Kansas you will lose your driving privileges for 30 days. After thirty days, you can drive only to school and/or work for the next 330 days. The fee to get your driver's license reinstated is $100, however, the suspension will show on driving record permanently. This will definitely affect all future insurance rates.

State of Kansas DUI Punishments: 
First Offense Punishments
Alcohol evaluation and treatment programs
Jail time up to 6 months
$500 to $1,000 in fines
Loss of drivers license for 30 days
Increase in insurance premiums
Possible Community Service

Second Offense Punishments
Loss of Drivers license for 1 year
Mandatory Alcohol Evaluation and Treatment program
90 days to 1 year of jail time
$1000 to $1500 in fines
Possible Community Service
Increase in insurance premiums or insurance cancellation

Third Offense Punishments
$1500 to $2500 in fines
Jail time up to one year
Driver's license revoked for one year
Ignition interlock device required to be installed on vehicle
Mandatory Alcohol Evaluation and Treatment

Fourth Offense Punishments
Fine of $2500
Jail time up to one year
Driver's license revoked for one year
Ignition interlock device required to be installed on vehicle
Mandatory Alcohol Evaluation and Treatment

 

There are other considerations to keep in mind. In the state of Kansas if you are convicted of a DUI, you will be required to attend an Alcohol and Drug Safety Education Program or some other similar program depending on your location. You will also be required to be in a treatment program. The cost for you will be $150 to $300.

KANSAS SR-22
After a DUI conviction, your insurance company will require you to attain an SR-22 insurance policy. This is the only way that they will continue to cover you. An SR-22 insurance policy is only available through special insurance companies that specialize in high-risk coverage for those that have prior DUI offenses. This insurance can be quite pricey, however, it will be required in order to reinstate your driver's license.