24 Hour Toll Free Help

DUI in Hawaii

DWI in Hawaii

Hawaii takes drinking and driving seriously. Hawaii has Driving Under the Influence (DUI), which includes driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol. There is a similar charge of Operating a Vehicle Under The Influence of an Intoxicant (OVUII). Both of these offenses, upon conviction, bring heavy fines and penalties.

Once charged with DUI or OVUII, there are two cases against you. One being with the criminal court system and the other with the Administrative Driver's License Revocation Office (ADLRO).

The state of Hawaii is a member of the Interstate Driver's License Compact. This is an agreement between the states to share information regarding Drunk Driving convictions. The driver's home state is notified of any drunk driving conviction. Each state has different types of actions against the convicted driver. This law relates to all visitors and those on temporary assignment in Hawaii. You must protect your Administrative Rights in Hawaii before departure. Failing to do so may result in driver's license suspension or revocation in your home state. Contact a Hawaii DUI attorney immediately to protect your rights.
 
In Hawaii, a conviction can bring a required ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle, community service, jail time, monetary fines, alcohol and drug education program and treatment if needed, driver's license suspension, mandatory attendance at AA meetings, and possibly impoundment of your vehicle. A DUI conviction has serious consequences both monetarily and loss of your freedom.

The Hawaii DUI law states that it is a crime to operate a motor vehicle with a blood or breath alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher. The DUI charge is proved purely on the offender's body chemistry at the time of the traffic stop. If the driver appears to be impaired due to alcohol or drugs, he/she will be pulled over. This law also includes operating a motorcycle, moped, and boat.

The state will also look back at your driving record to see if there are any prior convictions for DUI in the last five years. A fourth time DUI offense is a felony and bring mandatory jail time.

 

Once convicted of DUI you can expect the following fines and penalties:

First Offense -
          Enrollment in a 14-day alcohol and/or drug abuse program
          Jail time possible up to five days
          Ninety days driver's license suspension
          Community service up to 72 hours
          Increase of vehicle insurance rates

Second Offense (within five years of first offense)-
          Between $500 and $1,500 fine
          Jail time between 5 to 14 days
          Two hundred and forty community service hours in lieu of jail time        
          Driver's license suspension for one year
          Increase or cancellation of vehicle insurance

Third Offense (within five years of the first offense)-
          Between $500 and $2,500 fine
          Possible loss of vehicle
          Driver's license revoked for two to five years
          Jail time between 10 to 30 days
          Increase or cancellation of vehicle insurance

Fourth Offense – Felony
          This carries increased fines, penalties, and jail time.

An experienced DUI attorney can sit down with you and help you understand your rights, the court process, and the options that may be available to you.

There are various avenues to pursue to cause legal doubt on guilt. You must be proved guilty “beyond a reasonable doubt” by the prosecution. An experienced DUI attorney can go over your case to ensure that every detail of your arrest and testing was performed accurately, according to DUI laws and procedures. Contact us today.